top of page

1929 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

I know I'm not a professional critic, and I've never studied anything in the movie field. So don't go for me if I choose something you disagree with - it's only my opinion!

Here is the list of all the movies I watched with a small review. After that is the list of awards and nominees. The winner is always listed first, but I've underlined who I think should have won. Also keep your eye out for my least favourite movie.


7th Heaven

I loved this movie. Great acting and chemistry from Gaynor and Farrell. The plot had genuine tension and joy.

8.5/10


A Ship Comes In

I had no idea what was happening during most of this movie. Granted, I was trying to unknot some wool which I was watching, but I can't have missed that much. It had some great points but it was a bit too twee. Unfortunately, the ending which I think I would have liked, is missing. I can't see what the nomination for Louise Dresser was for. A bit too melodramatic for me. I did like the positivity of the characters though.

6.4/10.


Chang: A Drama of the Wilderness

I liked the first few minutes but got bored pretty quickly. I would have much preferred to see every day domestic jungle life, rather than purely the animal stuff. The cinematography seemed daring and exciting, but I was more interested in the baskets the wife was making. It's interesting that it's the only documentary to be nominated for Best Picture but it didn't deserve the nomination in my opinion.

6.4/10.


Glorious Betsy

Slow and predictable, but Costello and McDermott did a good job of their parts.

5/10


Sadie Thompson

It's such a shame that the most exciting part of the movie is missing. It was great to see such terrific performances by Barrymore and Swanson. The plot was good but quite slow and the character portrayal was very flat and one-dimensional. Good job on highlighting the dangers of religious hypocrisy and fanaticism. I think I would have loved the ending.

7.5/10.


Speedy

Good (not Charlie Chaplin good, but still good). The carnival rides looked insane, and the umbrella gag had me laughing out loud. The plot was good, but some jokes went on a touch too long.

7/10.


Street Angel

Not as good as 7th Heaven, but still good to watch. The passages of time were clunky and the ending inappropriate for modern audiences. Some good cinematography.

7/10.


Sunrise

Usual over-acting style of silent film. I felt the middle part was unnecessarily long. I don't think it needed the comedic elements. However, there were some wonderfully innovative cinematic elements, like the drowning subtitles and the walking between cars.

7/10.


Tempest

This was great. Barrymore was great in most parts. There was great contrast and it felt polished. The madness scene was great, and I liked the friendship between Bulba and Ivan. Interesting plot the whole way through.

8/10


The Circus

I love Charlie Chaplin! The jokes still hold up today. The mirror maze scenes were amazing. There were some plot holes, but it didn't matter. Pure genius.

8.5/10.


The Crowd

I didn't get to watch this at the same time as the other movies from this year. I finally found a copy so I am hoping I remember the other films in a good light, because the truth is, I think this is easily the best movie from this year. The story was compelling (a might slow in places but I'll forgive it), the acting was top-notch, and the cinematography was brilliant! Almost nothing to fault!

9/10.


The Jazz Singer

I'm not a fan of Al Johnson's singing. However, having watched silent movies for quite a while now, I got a taste of how exciting it would have been for audiences to hear talking for the first time. The story was interesting but a bit too melodramatic. The temple bits were interesting as it's not something I've seen before.

7/10.


The Last Command

Quite powerful for a silent film. Emil is a good actor although slightly hammy. Good parallel between Hollywood and Russia.

8/10.


The Patent Leather Kid

Snore. This movie could have been an hour shorter. Acting was pretty bad. Ray Turner's performance was good but safe to say, this is one of the worst movies I've seen for the year.

3/10.


Two Arabian Knights

This movie had some funny moments, with my favourite being the scene with the goats. There were some good tense scenes like with the barbed wire, the knocked board, and the Russian roulette encounter. But overall, I found it a bit boring. I love Louis Wolheim and he was good in this, but it didn’t save the movie overall. Out of the two comedy movies nominated, I preferred Speedy.

6.7/10.


The Racket

This needed sound. It didn't really work as a silent movie. The acting was good, but I just got too bored to care.

5/10.


Underworld

Great costumes. The two villains looked too much alike, and I struggled to work out who was who. I really liked the acting of Clive Brook. No chemistry between him and Brent though. The lighting was good, and the plot was enjoyable. Up there with my favourites for the year so far.

8/10.


Wings

Almost perfect. The bubbles scene went on too long. But the stunts and effects were amazing. Three very attractive men in the cadet tent. Can't top that. I cried when Jack came home and saw David's mum. Great cinematography throughout.

8.5/10.


 

Awards


Best Actor

Emil Jannings (The Last Command, The Way of All Flesh)

Richard Barthelmess (The Patent Leather Kid & The Noose)


I would have liked to have seen John Barrymore, James Murray, and Charles Farrell nominated. Barrymore did a great mental breakdown scene, Farrell made romantic chemistry with his partner and Murray was more realistic than them all. Emil was fantastic too, but for me, James Murray wins the gong due to his more realistic acting style.


Best Actress

Janet Gaynor (7th Heaven, Street Angel, & Sunrise)

Gloria Swanson (Sadie Thompson)

Louise Dresser (A Ship Comes In)


A resounding yes. I need not say more, except that I think Eleanor Boardman should have been nominated. Swanson was good but I wasn't wowed by Louise.


Best Picture, Production

Wings

7th Heaven

The Racket


Yes to Wings - that was a cinematic masterpiece with great storylines, cinematography, and action and effects. 7th Heaven was good though.


Best Picture, Unique and Artistic Production

Sunrise

Chang: A Drama of the Wilderness

The Crowd


Sunrise - No. I would have liked to have seen The Circus nominated but I loved The Crowd. As there are two awards for Best Picture, I have to choose between Wings and The Crowd, and I enjoyed The Crowd much more and it has less issues with it from a modern eye.


My favourite movies of the year were 1) The Crowd, 2) Joint - 7th Heaven, and The Circus. 3) Wings


Worst Movie of the Year

My least favourite movie of the year award goes to The Patent Leather Kid. It was a snooze fest.


Best Art Direction

William Cameron Menzies (Tempest & The Dove)

Harry Oliver (7th Heaven)

Rochus Gliese (Sunrise)


I couldn't see the Tempest or The Dove but the fantastic elements of Sunrise made this the winner for me.


Best Cinematography

Charles Rosher (Sunrise)

George Barnes (Sadie Thompson, The Devil Dancer, &The Magic Flame)


I'll go with Sunrise but The Crowd was right up there too.


Best Director, Comedy Picture

Lewis Milestone (Two Arabian Knights)

Ted Wilde (Speedy)


I found Speedy to be more humorous and engaging.


Best Director, Dramatic Picture

Frank Borzage (7th Heaven)

Herbert Brenon (Sorrell and Son)

King Vidor (The Crowd)


I preferred all the elements of The Crowd so I think overall the director award should go to Vidor.


Best Effects, Engineering Effects

Roy Pomeroy (Wings)

Nugent Slaughter

Ralph Hammeras


Yup, completely deserved.


Best Writing, Adaptation

7th Heaven (Benjamin Glazer)

Glorious Betsy (Anthony Coldeway)

The Jazz Singer (Alfred A. Cohn)


I preferred the story of The Jazz Singer. I felt it was more cohesive and less melodramatic.


Best Writing, Original Story

Underworld (Ben Hecht)

The Last Command (Lajos Biró)


Honorary Awards

Chaplin won an honorary award for The Circus and his general brilliance. While I agree that he is brilliant, The Circus should have won a Best Picture Oscar in it's own right.

The other honorary award was for the Jazz Singer, which was so revolutionary that I agree it needed a special award.





bottom of page