top of page

1938 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

Here are my reviews for all the Oscar nominated movies from the 1938 Oscars. Below is the list of award winners with what I would have voted for - or click here.


A Damsel in Distress -

love a good Fred Astaire movie and this one had some great moments. The dances were interesting; I liked the brush dance and the carnival ones. The plot (while a bit silly) was interesting, and overall, it was really quite funny. I loved Gracie Allen. The costumes were nice, and the hats were gorgeous. On the flip side, I was underwhelmed by any romance - there wasn't much chemistry between Astaire and Fontaine, nor was it set up to show the softer side. I found the dances fun but not sensational (apart from a minute or two with the umbrella). I felt the carnival dance went on to long and had too much gimmick and not enough talent. I will take Fred dancing arm in arm with a talented partner any day over doing simple steps into a mirror. The acting was only OK - nothing stood out here except how I found the boy annoying after a while. Oh, actually, the father was quite good. I think the Art Direction was very good and deserves the Oscar Nomination. The Fun House routine deserves a nomination too, but winner? I guess I'll have to watch the other contenders.

6.7/10.


A Day at the Races

So far in my Oscar's journey, I might have seen I think a total of 2 movies once before - but this is the first movie I have seen multiple times. I love the Marx Bros. and I think I watched this movie at least 20 times as a teenager and I've watched it every few years since. I love it. It's not my favourite Marx Brothers movie though. Most of the jokes hold up so well even to modern audiences. Groucho is hilarious! All the brothers are great, and I love it when Harpo plays the harp - always sublime. The sound quality is good, and the plot doesn't get stale; it's quite inventive really. This has to rate as one of my favourite comedies, but when it comes to Oscars, I usually like movies that hit a bit harder. But I still recommend this to anyone. The tutsi frutsi ice cream scene is a classic, as is the physical examinations. The dance number for which the movie is nominated is full of fun and life, but I'm not sure it warranted a nomination. I wish there was a comedy section for Oscar awards.

6,93/10


A Night at the Movies

This short wasn't funny or special. I did get a bit of entertainment value out of seeing it as an historical snippet. I can't image what it would have been like to have to leave the house to watch movies/news etc. I would have been a big fan of books and the radio, I think! I'm grateful I can watch movies from anywhere now.

5.36/10


A Star is Born

It's unfortunate that I have previously seen the Cooper-Gaga version as the acting in that is amazing - whereas here, it's only OK. The story is brilliant and then as with the current version, I get so cross at the female lead putting up with so much stuff. In the 2016 version, my heart broke with the awards scene whereas here he was just annoying. I love May Robinson in this film; I probably prefer her to all the other actors and her character was lovely too. I wonder that Janet might have been a bit old for her part? I loved her impersonations of Garbo, Hepburn, and West - pretty spot on. I like the motif that to be successful, you need to be yourself and not copy other people. The score was great but the sound quality lacked a bit. I liked seeing the stars on the Boulevard and I wondered if Gaynor had one, and the trivia revealed she does at that the r was visible in the shot and I thought that was cool. I also loved the caravan trip. There was a spark but no real chemistry between Gaynor and March. Some of the cinematography and elements were cool - I especially loved the name on the poster changing and the zoom out to make March seem small and invisible. I've listed a lot of negatives, but it really was a good movie. You could feel March's emasculation, but I wanted more torment because the end was brilliant and the last line sublime. I wanted March to be troubled, not annoying. But still, what a movie and deserve all the remakes! It deserves all the nominations too.

7.32/10


Ali Baba Goes to Town

Urgh! This was unsettling. So racist and intolerant and self-sanctimonious. The costumes seemed ridiculous. There was some decent cinematography and editing. My highlight was Tony Martin - he's cute and a great singer. I am only a few movies in, but this will take some beating for worst movie of the year. The dance was ok but I'm not sure it was worth the nomination.

5.64/10


Artists and Models

Argh! Another stinker in a row. The editing was poor. It seemed to want to emulate The Great Ziegfeld, and while the costumes were actually really good, this was a bridge too far. I liked Cecil Cunningham and I think Ida Lupino is gorgeous (Gail Patrick was pretty too). I got a quick chuckle out of the radio hold-up scene but not much else. The songs seem so irrelevant and boring. Halfway through the movie, I felt like nothing had happened yet. The acting was ok, except from Ben Blue who was ridiculous. Oh, and I didn't like the singing of Judy Canova. I felt the ending was silly. The way the love stories ended were so ridiculous. The Oscar Non-Nom wasn't warranted. I thought I couldn't get a worse movie than Ali Bab this year - well, this one is just as bad.

5.64/10.


Black Legion

Woah! This was so good! The opening credits were pretty cool and dramatic. The cinematography was brilliant the whole way through, and I especially liked the mirror scene with the gun. Bogie is so good looking and young here. He was looking like such a manly man which is a bit new for the movies I've watched. But I was so impressed with his acting. It's the first real tormented and remorseful character I've seen on this journey. Henry Brandon was pretty cute too. The home life in the kitchen was lovely and provided such a contrast to the end. The art design and editing were great. The plot was good the whole way through. Such a poignant movie seeing it was made at the time of Nazis and KKK, but it just as relevant for today. The theme came over so strongly and I liked the fact that they linked it back to the very top and how much money could be made. The love of money is the root of all evil, as they say. It certainly deserved the Oscar Nomination it got for Original Story, but I'm surprised it wasn't nominated for more awards. At the very least, Humphrey Bogart should have been nominated for Best Actor. His performance was sublime.

7.77/10.


Camille

I instantly saw the similarities with Moulin Rouge, but this version made less sense. Some of the plot points and dialogue seemed a bit ridiculous. I would have liked more character development from Taylor's character. The acting was good, but I couldn't care less about the fate of the characters. There was good chemistry between Garbo and Taylor on-screen, but I couldn't warm to the characters in general. It was shot beautifully - maybe not so much with the cinematography, but beautiful costumes and set design and landscapes. It had a nice soundtrack and good sound. Overall, quite entertaining. I think Garbo's nomination was absolutely deserved.

7.1/10


Captains Courageous

Well, that was brilliant. The plot was almost perfect, a very few slow moments, but overall, so good. I loved the character development of all the main and some of the supporting characters characters. It was such a great moral tale without being too preachy. The acting was brilliant by all. I loved Freddie Bartholemew and I think he should have received an Oscar nomination. I agree with Tracy's nomination, but I don't think he should have won. The cinematography was excellent and the whole movie was a pleasure to watch. The only slight drawbacks I have is Tracy's accent, the score could have been better, and a few slow moments. But this has got to be one of the best movies I've watched so far. There aren't many films I could easily go back to the start and watch again, but this is one. I completely agree with all the Oscar Nom-Nom's but I'm not sure Tracy deserved the win.

8.3/10.


Conquest

I got a bit bored during the middle of this movie, but it really picked up the closer it got to the end - maybe a tad too quick, but it had better pace as it went along. I liked the portrayal of strength from Garbo, and the scene where Napolean was telling her of the Hapsburg plan was quite moving. At times, I feel Garbo overacts but when she tones it down, it is so beautiful. Boyer was pretty good but I'm not sure it was Oscar-worthy. What I loved about this film was how it looked - the cinematography was great, and the sets, costumes, and settings were absolutely beautiful. The Oscar Nom-Nom for Art Direction was well warranted. The score was pretty good too. Not a bad film and it made me like Garbo a little bit more.

7/10.


Dead End

Errr, well, obviously I didn't like this one as much as proper critics because my score was much lower than the IMDB score. I think I had major issues with the plot. I get there was a main plot with sub-plots, but I didn't think they put them together very well. I was never super engrossed with the story, and almost completely disengaged after Bogart was gone. It had its moments where I loved what was going on and how it was done - in particular, after Bogart sees his mother, and when he sees Francey. The cinematography was excellent! Such great lighting and choices of camera angles and shots. I just wish I had cared more about characters other than Bogart. I don't think it deserved the Oscar Nom-Nom for Best Picture, and I don't feel that Claire Trevor had enough screen time to warrant even a supporting actress award, but I do agree with the cinematography and art direction nominations.

6.83/10


Educated Fish

This was ok. Unfortunately, I will continue to judge all cartoons by the classic "Flower and Trees" until I find a better one, and this was nothing compared to it. Some cute little puns. Good for kids. Nothing earth-shattering.

5/10.


Every Day's a Holiday

When I watched She Done Him Wrong, which was my least favourite movie from that year, I was so glad to know that it was the only Oscar nominated Mae West movie. So, imagine my heartbreak when I came across this film and found out that She Done Him Wrong was the only Best Picture Oscar nominated movie, and that I would again have to be subjected to the resultant eye-rolling and boredom due to another Mae West film. Sounds harsh but also kinda true. There is something about these movies that completely grate on me. I dislike the way she talks and walks, and while I know it is iconic, it makes me wince. The plot was boring and silly, and I can't say I learnt a thing. I give a point of two for costumes, and that's it. Sorry. Next.

4.9/10.


Hitting a New High

This movie had a terrible score of IMDB, and I don't think it warranted such a low score. Don't get me wrong - it's not a great movie, but I've seen far worse. There were some good moments - I especially liked the scene with the lion. I liked Lily Pons' bird song. It was a movie that didn't take itself too seriously. On the negative side, the plot was nothingy, the opera isn't too my taste, and there was nothing special about it. I'm ok with the sound nomination, but I'm glad it didn't win.

6.1/10.


In Old Chicago

This movie reminded me so much of San Francisco; the movie was a bit boring until the exciting end part. I though Don Ameche was great, and Power was good. I disagree with the nomination for Alice Brady, who I usually love, because there wasn’t a lot of depth to it. I really enjoyed the cinematography, such as the opening scene with the wagon, the beer pulling, and the effective use of close-ups. The costumes were great. I didn’t like the sound for most of the movie, but it was well done during the fire. It was the same with the effects – they were poor for most of the movie, but excellent at the end. Like San Francisco, if the whole movie had the same attention to detail as the last 15 minutes, I would have liked it more. But the end was spectacular, which brings the score up considerably. At this point, I agree with the Best Picture nomination as it’s in my top 5 for the year but that could easily change. I disagree with the writing nomination. I agree with the sound nomination but only for the last 15 minutes of the movie. I believe the assistant director was responsible for most of the last part of the movie, so I agree with that nod.

7.27/10.


Lost Horizon

Wow! This movie was amazing! The plot had me absolutely gripped for 75% of this movie. I haven't seen a movie like it on my journey so far. It had touches of politics, science-fiction, thriller, adventure - so good! It seems so modern for the time. I think I would love being in Shangri-La and I think the concept of moderation in everything is really interesting and might even be a worthy goal; after all, it's extremism that seems to skew everything. The writing was fantastic. The theme was so interesting and I'm sure this movie will stay with me for a long time. I love Ronald Colman and he was great in this film, but not exceptional. I also really like Edward Everett Horton, and he was also good without being a stand-out. I really enjoyed HB Warner's performance the most and he is totally deserving of the nom-nom. However, I find most of the other actors, especially the actresses, disappointing. There was fantastic cinematography throughout. The art design was good but could have gone an extra mile in being a bit more like paradise instead of an Art Deco mansion. I love the directing and overall, for pure enjoyment, I would have liked to have given the movie a 9, but all things considered, I've rated it lower and it's my second favourite movie of the year so far. It was hard to toss up between this and Captains Courageous, but out of the two, CC is the one I would watch again tomorrow, but I would love to read the book of LH! I agree with the Best Picture, Art Design, and Warner's nomination. I'm not so sure about Editing, Score, and Sound. I think Colman should have been nominate for Best Actor, and Cukor should have been nominated for Best Director.

8/10.


Make a Wish

I feel the IMDB score for this movie is a little harsh. It's cute. Nothing special but a good kid's film. It feels like a very early version of The Parent Trap. Bobby Breen is a great singer. I love Basil Rathbone and it was good to see him in this kind of role, even though I think they should have got someone who could sing. Opera is not my thing - especially female singers - but this kept it to a minimum. The camp looks fun. There was quite a good amount of tension built up for the office visit. I don't think it warranted an Oscar Nom-Nom. Not terrible, but not great.

6.32/10.


Manhattan Merry-Go-Round

This movie was just an excuse to whack some famous people in a film to make money. The plot was as flimsy as anything. There was nothing of note here, except for good performances by Kay Thompson and Cab Calloway. I'm over opera - so much of it this year and at least one more to go! The acting was only bearable and the racial stereotypes not funny at all. I do not understand why it got an Oscar Nomination for Art Design. This was a snooze fest. Not recommended. May end up being my least favourite movie of the year, and that's saying something because I watched Mae West's Every Day is a Holiday.

4.82/10.


Maytime

This was beautiful. The plot was apt for a movie about opera stars. It was of good pace, and I didn't get bored (except maybe for a few minutes near the start before the flashback). The theme was predictable but timeless. The acting was above average. Jeanette Macdonald is such a good actress and so beautiful. Eddy does well, and I thought Barrymore was sensational. The art design in this movie was superb and it was such a delight to watch. I feel this movie is a bit underrated by the Academy - I think Barrymore should have got a supporting actor nomination, and it should have been nominated for art design - so much better than Manhattan Merry-Go-Round in that department. This movie was nominated for score (I agree) and for sound (I disagree - I was constantly having to turn the movie up and down in volume). I would recommend this movie to opera lovers, fans of Macdonald and Eddy, or viewers that love beautiful scenery, sets, and costumes.

7.02/10.


Mr. Dodd Takes the Air

This was really predictable and a little cringe-worthy at times. It was pretty heartwarming though and I really liked the ending. Kenny Baker reminds me so much of Dick Powell. I thought Jayne Wyman did a good job and Alice Brady was absolutely wonderful. Nothing special about the movie but entertaining enough. The nominated song was good and warranted the nomination.

5.64/10.


Night Must Fall

This was fascinating and the first real suspense I've seen on my journey. I kept thinking through the whole movie that there must be a twist, and that the real killer was the boyfriend, or the maid - but no, it was a more of a portrait of a killer rather than a whodunnit. I enjoyed the plot and while it could have progressed a little faster, it kept my interest. The scene when Mrs Branson was alone got my heart racing. It was a bit tame, and I kept wondering about motive so I think there might have been some plot holes, but it was still really interesting to watch. The acting was superb. I loved Montgomery and Whitty, and they totally deserved their nominations. Rosalind was good too. It was shot very much like a play, so it was a bit solid in appearance, but still very nicely shot.

7.73/10


One Hundred Men and a Girl

I'm probably not being fair to this movie as I had it on while I was baking and so didn't give it 100% attention like I normally do. Hey, I had lots to do. As I've stated copious amounts of time before, I don't like opera voices, but I do tend to except Jeanette Macdonald and Deanna Durbin from the list - maybe because they sing more modern songs. The plot was cutesy and not too taxing on the brain, but it was still sweet. My biggest pet peeve with the movie was Deanna's voice. It cut through me and made me cringe. Just the pitch of it. I just wanted her to be quiet. It wasn't a bad movie, but it wasn't anything special either. It totally did not warrant a Best Picture nomination. I disagree with the writing nomination because the plot was so predictable and not very interesting. I also disagree with the sound, mainly because it was so tinny. So, to be nice, I'll go with the editing nomination and the score, but I preferred Maytime much more to this one.

67.5/10


Penny Wisdom

There was a lot to like about this short. I really like domestic history, so I loved seeing the recipes and the cooking implements and utensils. While I'm not sure I would have personally enjoyed the dishes, it was a fun look in the kitchen. Nothing sensational here but I enjoyed it anyway.

5.73/10.


Portia on Trial

This felt like watching a play except I found the plot to be too silly. I liked the theme of it and the double standards, and I enjoyed the just ending, but the events seemed far too unrealistic. The acting was quite good. I particularly liked Ruth Donnelly. Overall, it was nothing special. I watched this while I was away on holiday and I'm only writing this review now I'm back. This movie was nominated for Best Score, but I can't remember there being any music behind it, so it mustn't have been memorable, so I don't think it should have been nominated.

5.90/10.


Quality Street

This was a movie in three parts for me. During the first third, I was bored and waiting for something to happen. During the second third, I thought the plot was ridiculous and I wasn't enjoying it very much. But in the last third, I finally twigged that it was meant to be comedy, the twist was very satisfying, and it became quite humourous. I really enjoyed the last part! I always like movies with a "Be yourself" theme. I love Katharine Hepburn and Tone, but I felt Katharine overplayed the role a little and Tone underplayed it. I felt the spark from Tone to Hepburn but didn't feel it go the other way. What I loved most about this movie was the Art Design. I'm shocked it wasn't nominated. The sets were gorgeous, and the costumes made the story. It was nominated for Music Score, and I have to agree it did well to set the tone. I love the music linked to the shutting of the curtains. If this whole movie was as good as near the end, it would have scored much higher for me. But it has many deserving points.

6.9/10.


Ready, Willing, and Able

This movie felt like it was all just going through the motions. The plot premise was a bit more interesting than some musicals but still pretty ridiculous. I like the twist as to who the real Jane Clark really was. I didn’t see that coming. The acting was ok, but Ruby’s eyes seemed so lifeless. Feels like she phoned it in. There wasn’t a lot of love about this film, but I did think the dance which it was nominated for was quite clever, where the dancer’s legs made up the keys on the keyboard. I was sad to read in the trivia that Ross Alexander had committed suicide prior to the release of this movie. His performance was one of the best in this film.

5.89/10.


Romance of Radium

An interesting little short. I'm sure it's not very accurate but it held my interest. It's made me more interested in what we've done with radium since. I presume it is used in bombs but I'm ignorant to how radium and uranium might be linked. Shows my inept science brain, eh!

6.45/10


Shall We Dance?

This was really fun. Again, another movie that was really slow to take off. I didn't really enjoy the whole first half of this movie, which means I rate it quite a bit lower than the IMDB score. But once it got going, I had laugh out loud moments and genuine tension. There was some innovative dancing. The costumes were lovely, and I loved the comedy of Blore and Everett. On the negative side, I always wish for more chemistry between Astaire and Rogers, which I usually feel when they're dancing, but this movie didn't lend itself to that. One of the better Astaire-Rogers films but I felt it could have been better. Great songs but not super well performed. Overall, it was fun!

6.77/10


Should Wives Work?

This was silly, but I felt that the acting was pretty good here. I can see why people would have liked Leon Errol. I think Vivian Oakwood did well too. Believe me, this is nothing special and is currently in my bottom five, but I think I imagined much worse.

5.57/10


Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

Shouldn't it be dwarves? Anyway, this was absolutely brilliant. I'm amazed at how good the illustration and animation were. It was beautiful to watch. I didn't realise it had so many songs, but I think this movie had almost a perfect score. The way it used music to convey the tensions and drama - it was absolutely sublime. There were so many cute moments, and it captured fear really well. I almost cried with happiness when Snow White woke up. It made me want to start cleaning up my house (now that's a feat and a half!) One of my top five of this year so far. It totally deserved its Best Score Oscar Nomination. I think this is one movie that everybody should see once in their lives.

7.8/10.


Something to Sing About

Cagney was amazing in this! I knew he could dance, but wow! There is something about him that is very sexy. I don't see it in stills - it comes across mainly onscreen. And the love scenes with the actresses? Oh! So good. The only problem with this movie is that he is the only great thing about it. The other actors are just ok, there is nothing special about the cinematography or design, and even the songs are only so-so (even though Oscar nominated). The sped-up fight scene was woeful. I loved this movie but only for Jimmy.

6.48/10.


Souls at Sea

This was an interesting movie. I feel Cooper is often cast as the strong silent type. I give this movie points on the quality of the sound and the very exciting sinking scenes. Some great stunt work. The scene with Powder in the cabin with his lady was beautiful and haunting. The plot was good, and it was well paced and edited. I wish there was more chemistry between Cooper and the leading lady. I felt like there was more chemistry between Nuggin and Powder! I think out of the three Oscar Nominations, it best deserved the Assistant Director, but I don't think it warranted any awards, but it was still a decent movie.

7.18/10


Stage Door

I feel I did a big disservice to this movie. I was doing a jigsaw puzzle at the same time and got pretty engrossed by it and didn't give the movie the attention it probably deserved. My issue with this movie was the plot. It felt too silly and unrealistic. I know it was a comedy, but I felt it needed a more solid foundation. And it's an introvert's nightmare being in a house with that many different character types. That said, there was a lot I enjoyed. I thought Rogers was great, but I really loved Lucille Ball in this film. My favourite though was Katharine Hepburn and her huge character growth. This was great but maybe just didn't appeal to me. I certainly see the attraction though. The costumes were great too. I don't believe Andrea Leeds should have been nominated for the Supporting Actress award, but I am fine with the other nominations, especially the director awards because that wouldn't have been easy with this film.

7.3/10.


Stella Dallas

This was a typical Vidor film. I love the character study in this. I was annoyed at how much some kids will put up with from their parents. I was so sad for Lolly when people were dissing her mother (if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all!). And I cringed at how fake Stella was and how society climbing she wanted to be while having little to no class. It came across so well. The costumes were really apt for the characters. The acting was pretty good, but I wanted a bit more from John Boles. Overall, the reason I haven't given this a better score is that it's a bit too melodramatic and stereotypical. But still a solid watch. I think Stanwyck deserved her nomination, but I wasn't so keen on Shirley's nomination, even though she did a good job.

7.16/10.


The Awful Truth

I don't know why this movie has this name. I don't think it goes! Anyway, this was a really fun watch. My husband said it was one he actually enjoyed because when I force him to watch an "old" movie with me, he usually doesn't like them (Philistine!). The plot was entertaining and there were some absolute laugh out loud moments. I have an issue with cheating being made fun of, but that's just my sensibilities. The comedic acting in this was superb. Dunne was fantastic and I absolutely adored Grant's performance. The faces he can make to express what is going on is sublime. The dialogue was witty and the costumes wonderful. However, the movie doesn't rate as highly for me as it did on IMDB because I guess I like more substance to my films. But I don't want to detract from this movie as it does rate in my top ten for the year. I'm not sure it warranted a Best Picture nomination, but I'm also not upset about it. I agree with Dunne's nomination but wish Grant had been nominated too, especially when Bellamy was nominated and I felt that was warranted, but Grant was better. The writing nomination was also warranted but I disagree with the editing. And I am surprised at the director win. Reading the trivia, I kinda get it that he was trying a new style of directing; one that was very improvisational and free, but I'm just not sure about the win.

7.25/10.


The Girl Said No

I first got a copy of this off the internet and it was so grainy and boring. I read others' reviews, and they loved it, so I thought I'd watch it again with a better copy because I thought I'd be more interested in it if it was a lot clearer. Guess what. Nope, it was as boring as the first time. There were some good one-liners, but other than that, I couldn't get into this movie. I'm all for unrealistic plots, but this was just silly and didn't make sense. It wasn't the worst film I've seen this year, not by a long shot, but it is still a movie I wouldn't recommend to anyone (ok, maybe to Gilbert and Sullivan fans). If you are familiar with G&S work, it probably adds an element or two, but I'm only familiar with the Pirates of Penzance (which I love) but not with numbers from other operettas. This movie was nominated for Best Sound Recording and it's fine, but I won't be watching this for a third time, that's for sure!

5.68/10


The Good Earth

First I have to say I have read the book and movies never come over as good as the novels. But I really loved what they did here. The theme of the novel came across very well. I LOVED the cinematography and editing in this film. So evocative and innovative. The intense locust scenes and the rural idyll were shot so well. There was lots of close ups and pans and it felt fresh. What wasn't so fresh was the acting performances. They were serviceable but not very authentic. I'm ok with Rainier's nomination, but I'm not sure about the win yet. I wish the make-up was a little more realistic. But overall, this is a fantastic movie and so far, is second on my list of favorite movies for the year. I was very impressed with the visuals of the movie and how well they portrayed the themes. It definitely warranted the nomination for Best Picture, Editing, and Director, and it deserved the win for Cinematography so far. I think it also should have been nominated for Score too.

8.05/10.


The Hurricane

This movie really surprised me. I thought it would be like a Tarzan type movie based off the poster. The shots of the South Pacific were very realistic, and I felt I wanted to move there immediately. I thought this would be a nice romantic movie until I remembered the title. I thought this was a brilliant movie. The plot kept me interested, although it bothered me that he kept trying to escape as I'm a rule follower and it would have been better if he had just complied! I liked the theme of being right in character rather than right in the eyes of the law. The acting was good all-round. Some overdid it a little, but still enjoyable. But Thomas Mitchell!! Apparently, I've seen him in other movies so far, but he hasn't stood out to me obviously. But in this movie, I was captivated by his performance. It was nominated for Supporting Actor, and I agree with that nomination whole-heartedly. Jon Hall was good to look at and Lamour is gorgeous. The villain was very villainy too. The cinematography and editing were fantastic in this film with lovely transparent scenes and great special effects. The score was really good too. A lot to like about this movie and I think it will probably end up safely in my top ten movies for this year. A fantastic adventure movie and a superb performance from Mitchell. I felt the tension time after time and really enjoyed the ending too.

7.73/10.


The Little Match Girl

This was really sad! The drawings were done in a way that looked cute on one hand and ugly on the other. Weird. I thought the message of this cartoon would be to always hold on your dreams because one day they might come true and that the end of the cartoon would show someone adopting the match girl and taking her to a home where all she had dreamed about would be waiting for her. And I guess in a sense it did if you believe in that sort of heaven. It was depressing but there were some lovely colourful animations in the dream sequences. The part where the matches go out is heart wrenching. So much in one little cartoon and not what I expected (not knowing the story beforehand).

6.73/10


The Old Mill

This isn't as good as other Disney short cartoons I've seen. I'll put it down to that fact that the good ones were all working on Snow White (which was amazing!) so these must have been the novices. I'm being too harsh, but this was a bit boring for me. There were some cute moments - I liked the wind going through the reeds and trees, and the tension with the bird's nest, but it felt a bit flat. Cool ideas but I couldn't get into it.

6.14/10.


The Prisoner of Zenda

Oooh, a guilty pleasure. This isn't a work of art - but it lots of fun and I enjoyed it immensely. The plot is fairly run of the mill fairy tale/adventure. I kept thinking of the video game of Zelda, so I had to try and get that out of my head! I liked the theme of duty, especially that women have the same sense of duty as men, and I can see how this would have appealed at a time when Edward VIII had abdicated for love. The acting was pretty good. Two Ronald Coleman's isn't enough. He is very easy on the eye! Yes, I'm a smitten fan. But David Niven and Fairbanks Jr are also pretty nice so the romantic in me enjoyed it a lot. Did you see Fairbanks in the black satin shirt! Ooof! Anyway, there wasn't anything too remarkable in how it was shot, except for the fantastic split screen stuff that really pushed the boundaries with having the arms and hands move into where you knew the split was. Pretty good for its time, I reckon. Swashbuckling, impossible love, mistaken identity - grab the popcorn, turn off the brain, and enjoy.

7.36/10.


The Private Life of the Gannets

I usually like documentaries, and nature is usually a genre I enjoy, but this wasn't fantastic. I think it was really missing colour film here. That would have helped me. And more close-ups and slow motion. It did a bit of that, but it just missed the mark for me. However, I am very grateful to be able to see these old documentaries.

5.73/10.


Thin Ice

I've seen another Sonja Henie movie before which I absolutely loathed, so I was not looking forward to this. But while it is definitely nothing special, there were plenty of things I liked about it. There were a few low-key laughs. I like Tyrone Power in Fair Isle type knits. The skating dancing was pretty fun to watch. This is nothing brilliant, but I saw definite improvement in Sonja's acting too (still not great but watchable - unlike the last movie). I was expecting much worse but found it to be a middle-of-the-road movie that could appeal to some. If I was a mum back in those days, I would have taken my kids to see it.

6.7/10


Topper

Well, this was a very different movie! I enjoyed the premise of the plot but I'm not sure it delivered as well as I hoped. I really enjoyed the scenes where the Kirby's were invisible, and I actually laughed out loud to some of Roland Young's physical comedy. The only downside for me was Roland's inability to talk clearly and the weird love triangle thing between Topper and Mrs Kirby. That said, the comedic acting was great all round, and while the special effects don't seem much to us now, I think they were well done. It was lighthearted and fun, and I can see why spin-off movies were made. I disagree with the sound nomination. I get the innovative use of off-screen voices, but to actually watch it, the sound levels were off. However, I completely agree with Roland Young's nomination for Supporting Actor. As much as I love Cary Grant, this movie really was all about Roland's performance, and he did a great job.

7.25/10.


Torture Money

I don't mind these cheesy Crime Doesn't Pay series. At least they're entertaining. I think the acting was ok in this one and while very predictable, the tension of the scene of the torture room was good. I'm not buying the criminal bosses talking in front of the unconscious mummy looking dude, but it was a pretty standard short reeler. Not terrible but not great.

5.82/10


Varsity Show

I normally love Dick Powell movies but this one wasn’t great. The plot was beyond silly and there isn’t a lot of nice things to say. I can see the appeal to young people back then as a fun part of college life, but it misses the mark today. It was a bit creepy to have the older man return back and then romance the college girl. Apparently 40 minutes were cut from this version of the film, and I’m glad I didn’t have to sit through it. I wonder what it was about because it didn’t feel like anything was missing. I’m ok with the nomination for the finale dance but there isn’t much to recommend here.

5.95/10.


Vogues of 1938

I thought the opening credits was very original. I liked the fact that it was in colour and the fashion was beautiful. And that's where the good points end. I would have liked this if it was set more in the fashion house and how they prepare for a collection or show. But this was just a super weird plot which I completely failed to understand at times. The different acts were moderately entertaining but just seemed inappropriate. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone unless they were super into fashion - but it even could have had more than it had. I'm ok with the song nomination but the Art Design nomination was a bit of stretch.

6.27/10


Waikiki Wedding

I could watch Bing Crosby sing the phone book and be satisfied. But this movie wasn't great. I loved his singing, and I enjoyed Shirley Ross' performance and voice. It had a few laughs but 90% of them fell very flat. I thought Martha Raye had potential but most of the time, she just annoyed me. It was very stereotypical, and it would have been nice to showcase more of Hawaii. I was thrown for a bit, as being an Elvis fan, I have seen Blue Hawaii many, many times and I spent quite a lot of the time at first comparing the two movies. I didn't' realise Bing had sung that song first. The music was the highlight of this movie, but what I don't understand is why the song Sweet Lelani got nominated when it is almost the weakest song in the movie. There were a lot of great ones, and Swee Lelani wasn't one of them! But Bing looked great!

6.32/10.


Way Out West

I've made it no secret that my comedy style will always align more with the Marx Brothers than Laurel and Hardy. I just find it so stupid. The way the straight man pulls faces belongs in the silent era. I like it a bit more refined. There were some good moments - I liked the eating of the hat, even though it had been done by Chaplin years earlier. The dance and the singing were cute. And I liked the recurring fall into the river (but it didn't need the same "bit" after it with spitting out water). I guess it appeals more to kids than my demographic, and I know my score would put a lot of people offside because it's highly rated on IMDB. I'm satisfied with the score nomination, but nothing really stood out for me in this movie.

6/10.


Wee Willie Winkie

I was prepared to dislike this movie immensely - but the opposite happened. I don't think I've rated a Shirley Temple film before, but she was absolutely amazing! She is a better actress than half the adult actresses of the time. I normally don't like Victor McLaglen, but he was perfect for this role and I loved the relationship his character and Priscilla developed. I already like C. Aubrey Smith, and this character was ideal for him. He showed such great character development. I didn't even recognise Cesar Romarro. The plot had some holes (I'm presuming because they were trying to cram a novel into a movie timeline) and there were parts that were a bit cringey, but overall, this was delightful. Fantastic cinematography and art design choices. I'd watch it again. The art direction nomination is completely warranted but a director nomination should have been there too, maybe.

7.43/10.


Wells Fargo

I got a bit bored during this movie. I found the plot slow and the characters uninteresting. The ending left me rolling my eyes. I think Joel McRae did a good job and I think they aged the characters well. Bob Burns did a good job too. But this was a pretty forgettable movie. I'm ok with the nomination as it did have good sound levels and realism but that's it.

5.86/10


Wings Over Honolulu

There is absolutely nothing to like about this film. The plot was ridiculous and the theme laughable. The acting was ok at best. The fight scene was pathetic. The only reason I didn't give this worst movie of the year is a) it actually had a plot, and b) it made me hate the lead character. I'm meant to like her by the end for her courage, but yuck! He would have been so much better off without her spoilt antics and attitudes. Way too melodramatic and unrealistic. This didn't deserve any Oscars.

4.91


You're a Sweetheart

When I started this journey, I read about how audiences got bored with musicals soon after the advent of sound. I marvelled at that because I love musicals and I couldn't understand how that could happen. Now I know. So many of these musicals have very little to no plot, and what storylines there are are way too fanciful and ridiculous. And this is one of them. It was just an excuse to show different performers and performance types. And some of them were not great. I think this is one of the first movies where I literally fast-forwarded through some of the acts. The bird calling one grated on me so that got mostly skipped, the lasso tricks, and bits of others. I really like Alice Faye's voice, but that's the only thing I liked about this movie. It didn't deserve the Art Direction nomination.

5.25/10.


 

Below is the list of nominees with the winner at the top but my choice is underlined.


Outstanding Production

The Life of Emile Zola – Henry Blanke for Warner Bros.

The Awful Truth – Leo McCarey and Everett Riskin for Columbia

Captains Courageous – Louis D. Lighton for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Dead End – Samuel Goldwyn and Merritt Hulbert for Samuel Goldwyn Prod. and United Artists

The Good Earth – Irving Thalberg and Albert Lewin for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

In Old Chicago – Darryl F. Zanuck and Kenneth Macgowan for 20th Century Fox

Lost Horizon – Frank Capra for Columbia

One Hundred Men and a Girl – Charles R. Rogers and Joe Pasternak for Universal

Stage Door – Pandro S. Berman for RKO Radio

A Star Is Born – David O. Selznick for Selznick International and United Artists


This was a very close race as my top three were so close in points. It came down to the fact that I could watch Captains Courageous over and over again and this really isn't much to fault it. The Life of Emile Zola ended up being #12 on my list. Check out my reviews on those movies above. My top three were: Captains Courageous (8.3/10), The Good Earth (8.05/10), and Lost Horizon (8/10). Honorable mention to #4 - Snow White as that was epic! Some very good movies from this year.


My worst movie of the year goes to Manhattan Merry-Go-Round at 4.82/10.



Best Director

Leo McCarey – The Awful Truth

Sidney Franklin – The Good Earth

William Dieterle – The Life of Emile Zola

Gregory La Cava – Stage Door

William Wellman – A Star Is Born


This was a tricky one for me as there were a lot of good directors in other movies that weren't nominated, like Cukor, Mayo, and Fleming. But I think the work of Franklin here to support all the elements of The Good Earth gets my nod. I get that McCarey was trying some innovative techniques, but I feel Franklin was the better moviemaker.



Best Actor

Spencer Tracy – Captains Courageous as Manuel Fidello

Charles Boyer – Conquest as Napoleon Bonaparte

Fredric March – A Star Is Born as Norman Maine

Robert Montgomery – Night Must Fall as Danny

Paul Muni – The Life of Emile Zola as Émile Zola


Oh, these are all tricky this year. The year of silly accents by the looks. I just can't go past the powerful performance of Humphrey Bogart in Black Legion. His character development was so good, that I have to give him the win even though he wasn't nominated. Out of those nominated, I would have gone Robert Montgomery. Tracy was good in the film, as was Bartholomew, but I loved the raw emotion we got out of Bogart, which is pretty rare.



Best Actress

Luise Rainer – The Good Earth as O-Lan

Irene Dunne – The Awful Truth as Lucy Warriner

Greta Garbo – Camille as Marguerite Gautier

Janet Gaynor – A Star Is Born as Esther Blodgett/Vicki Lester

Barbara Stanwyck – Stella Dallas as Stella Dallas


It's a toss-up between Dunne and Garbo here. Two very different styles. And the Garbo I liked was in Conquest rather than Camille. But after careful pondering, I'm going to go with Garbo for that scene in Conquest where Bonaparte is telling her he's going to marry a Hapsburg. That as the most hard-hitting and memorable performance for me from the options above.



Best Supporting Actor

Joseph Schildkraut – The Life of Emile Zola as Alfred Dreyfus

Ralph Bellamy – The Awful Truth as Dan Leeson

Thomas Mitchell – The Hurricane as Dr. Kersaint

H. B. Warner – Lost Horizon as Chang

Roland Young – Topper as Cosmo Topper


Gosh, this one is tricky too. It's between Mitchell, Warner, and Young for me. They were all so good! But I'm going with Mitchell as his performance made me notice him. He's been in other movies, and I can't remember him. But his natural acting style here was a breath of fresh air. I loved Warner's intensity and Young's comedy, but Mitchell was the most memorable for me.



Best Supporting Actress

Alice Brady – In Old Chicago as Molly O'Leary

Andrea Leeds – Stage Door as Kay Hamilton

Anne Shirley – Stella Dallas as Laurel Dallas

Claire Trevor – Dead End as Francey

May Whitty – Night Must Fall as Mrs Bramson


I haven't agreed much with the winners of the Oscars for this year so far, and that's not going to change here. I usually love Brady but there wasn't enough of her in this film to warrant the win. May Whitty's performance was magnificent and authentic.



Best Original Story

A Star Is Born – William A. Wellman and Robert Carson

Black Legion – Robert Lord

In Old Chicago – Niven Busch

The Life of Emile Zola – Heinz Herald and Geza Herczeg

One Hundred Men and a Girl – Hanns Kräly


Yay! One where I finally agree with the Academy this year! Such a great story that has lasted the test of time. Black Legion was up there too, but A Star Is Born was such a classic storyline that still holds up today.



Best Adaptation

The Life of Emile Zola – Heinz Herald, Geza Herczeg, and Norman Reilly Raine, based on Zola and His Time by Matthew Josephson

The Awful Truth – Viña Delmar, based on the play by Arthur Richman

Captains Courageous – John Lee Mahin, Marc Connelly, and Dale Van Every, based on the novel by Rudyard Kipling

Stage Door – Morris Ryskind and Anthony Veiller, based on the play by Edna Ferber and George S. Kaufman

A Star Is Born – Alan Campbell, Robert Carson, and Dorothy Parker, based on a story by William A. Wellman and Robert Carson


I don't see how you can have some of these as adaptations AND originals. That doesn't work. For me Adaptations should be from a novel (or a play). So, my winner here is Lost Horizon - Robert Riskin. This was my favourite plot of any movie of the year. He becomes my first double Oscar winner for adaptations.



Best Live Action Short Subject, One-Reel

The Private Life of the Gannets – Skibo Productions and Educational

A Night at the Movies – MGM

Romance of Radium – Pete Smith and MGM


While I'm not upset that Gannets won, I preferred the Romance of Radium. I know it wouldn't have been super accurate, but it made me think and realise how little I knew about the subject.



Best Live Action Short Subject, Two-Reel

Torture Money – MGM

Deep South – RKO Radio

Should Wives Work? – RKO Radio


While I didn't get to see Deep South, out of the remaining two, Torture Money wasn't too bad. Quite entertaining.



Best Live Action Short Subject, Color

Penny Wisdom – Pete Smith and MGM

The Man Without a Country – Warner Bros.

Popular Science J-7-1 – Paramount


I only got to see the winner from this year, but I actually quite enjoyed it.



Best Short Subject, Cartoon

The Old Mill – Walt Disney Productions and RKO Radio

Educated Fish – Paramount

The Little Match Girl – Charles Mintz and Columbia


It's a shame this is for short cartoon because the best cartoon of the year was Snow White, hands down. No comparison with the others. But, because it's for short cartoons, I can't judge it. My favourite this year was The Little Match Girl. This cartoon threw me for a loop with his dark storyline. I felt so sad after watching this and it left an impression on me.



Best Scoring

One Hundred Men and a Girl – Universal Studio Music Department

The Hurricane – Goldwyn Studio Music Department

In Old Chicago – 20th Century Fox Studio Music Department

The Life of Emile Zola – Warner Bros. Studio Music Department

Lost Horizon – Columbia Studio Music Department

Make a Wish – Principal Productions

Maytime – MGM Studio Music Department

Portia on Trial – Republic Studio Music Department

The Prisoner of Zenda – Selznick International Pictures Music Department

Quality Street – RKO Radio Studio Music Department

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs – Walt Disney Studio Music Department

Something to Sing About – Grand National Studio Music Department

Souls at Sea – Paramount Studio Music Department

Way Out West – Hal Roach Studio Music Department


No competition here. The score for Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs was one of the best I've heard in this whole journey.



Best Song

"Sweet Leilani" from Waikiki Wedding – Music and Lyrics by Harry Owens

"Remember Me" from Mr. Dodd Takes the Air – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Al Dubin

"That Old Feeling" from Walter Wanger's Vogues of 1938 – Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Lew Brown

"They Can't Take That Away From Me" from Shall We Dance – Music by George Gershwin (posthumous nomination); Lyrics by Ira Gershwin

"Whispers in the Dark" from Artists and Models – Music by Frederick Hollander; Lyrics by Leo Robin


If you've read my rant from Waikiki Wedding, you'll know that the movie was full of great songs, but Sweet Leilani wasn't one of them. So, I'll vote for the Gershwin's here. But if Blue Hawaii was nominated, I might have chosen differently....



Best Sound Recording

The Hurricane – Thomas T. Moulton

The Girl Said No – A. E. Kaye

Hitting a New High – John Aalberg

In Old Chicago – E. H. Hansen

The Life of Emile Zola – Nathan Levinson

Lost Horizon – John P. Livadary

Maytime – Douglas Shearer

One Hundred Men and a Girl – Homer G. Tasker

Topper – Elmer A. Raguse

Wells Fargo – Loren L. Ryder


Yep, agree here.



Best Art Direction

Lost Horizon – Stephen Goosson

Conquest – Cedric Gibbons and William A. Horning

A Damsel in Distress – Carroll Clark

Dead End – Richard Day

Every Day's a Holiday – Wiard Ihnen

The Life of Emile Zola – Anton Grot

Manhattan Merry-Go-Round – John Victor Mackay

The Prisoner of Zenda – Lyle R. Wheeler

Souls at Sea – Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson

Walter Wanger's Vogues of 1938 – Alexander Toluboff

Wee Willie Winkie – William S. Darling and David S. Hall

You're a Sweetheart – Jack Otterson


So many great contenders here but I'm going with Gibbons and Horning. That movie was so beautiful and full of so much visually. Devine. 2 Oscars from me for Gibbons now.



Best Cinematography

The Good Earth – Karl Freund

Dead End – Gregg Toland

Wings over Honolulu – Joseph Valentine


Ha, ha, ha, ha. Only three nominations for this category?!?!? What was the Academy thinking?!? Anyway, I actually agree with one of them, and that is Dead End. The Good Earth was a very close second. And Wings over Honolulu should be discarded never to be remembered.



Best Film Editing

Lost Horizon – Gene Havlick and Gene Milford

The Awful Truth – Al Clark

Captains Courageous – Elmo Veron

The Good Earth – Basil Wrangell

One Hundred Men and a Girl – Bernard W. Burton


Wonderful editing that really helped evoke wonderful intensity.



Best Dance Direction

A Damsel in Distress – Hermes Pan

Ali Baba Goes to Town – Sammy Lee

A Day at the Races – Dave Gould

Ready, Willing and Able – Bobby Connolly

Thin Ice – Harry Losee

Varsity Show – Busby Berkeley

Waikiki Wedding – LeRoy Prinz


I usually love Hermes Pan's work but here I'm going with Connolly for the wonderful typewriter dance. Very innovative and memorable. The best thing out of that film.



Best Assistant Director

In Old Chicago – Robert Webb

Lost Horizon –



The Life of Emile Zola – Russ Saunders

Souls at Sea – Hal Walker

A Star Is Born – Eric G. Stacey


Sure, this one.


Recent Posts

See All

1940 Oscars

Here is an alphabetical list of the movies I watched this year with a quick review and score. After I've watched them all, I'll give my opinion as to who should have won each Oscar. Babes in Arms I wa

bottom of page