top of page

1939 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

Here is an alphabetical list of the movies I watched this year with a quick review and score. Click here to see who I think the winners of each Oscar should have been.


Alexander's Ragtime Band

First cab of the rank for this year and I really enjoyed it. It's so hard to score the first movie of the year! The plot was fairly predictable but done well. They built great tension towards the end, and I liked how Jerry's character added some complexity. There was a lot of character development and growth from the two main characters, which I really loved. The acting was pretty good throughout. Nothing fantastic but more than serviceable. I loved Power's scene with Faye when he returns from the war and Ameche ending the marriage. Faye was a bit OTT sometimes but not bad. The dialogue was great with some fantastic lines (again I refer to the same Power scene). There were some interesting cinematography choices, good editing, and some nice effects. The art design was very good too. I loved the progression of the costumes from poor to rich, but I didn't like how they didn't stay true to the time period they were trying to portray. The soundtrack was excellent! Lots of toe-tapping numbers and I loved the singers. Overall, a great start to the 1939 Oscars. At this stage, I think the all the nominations were warranted, but maybe the jury is out of Art Design because of the inappropriate timing of the costumes and hair etc. Fantastic musical.

7.43/10.


Algiers

I really liked the plot of this movie. It kept me interested most of the time. There were a few dull spots but overall, it was quite good. I liked the ending, and the dialogue was entertaining. The acting was quite good too and the look they created was great. I think Hedy is gorgeous and Boyer's acting was very good but very one-dimensional. There wasn't any real chemistry that I could tell. The inspector looked like a cross between Dustin Hoffman, Stanley Tucci, and George Clooney to me! I think he should have been nominated for best supporting actor, especially over Gene Lockhart who I think didn't do enough to warrant it. There wasn't much a theme though and the editing was a bit clunky. I liked some aspects of the cinematography, but some parts didn't work very well but I gave them points for trying something new. I'm ok with the all the other nominations though.

7.11/10.


Angels with Dirty Faces

Can you go wrong with Cagney and Bogart in the same pic? Not for me! The plot was good but seemed a bit disjointed in places and a bit slow in the middle. For instance, I don't get how Cagney's character stayed so chummy with the mobsters. That whole part of it was weird and I'm not sure why they needed it. But the theme of the movie was great! And the final scenes were wonderful. I interpreted the end one way and then read others interpreted it another way, and I think it's a testimony to Cagney and the director that they pulled that off. Great choice by Curtiz to keep the ending hidden. The acting was great all round and the dialogue was great too. The cinematography and art design could have been better, and I wasn't a fan of Sheridan's work, but this was a great gangster film with a good message. Bogart was great and the kid that played Soapy was a standout. I agree with all the nominations for this film.

7.45/10.


Army Girl

Snore. Ok, well, the courtroom stuff was a bit more interesting but the whole pretending to be someone else thing wasn't necessary. It seems I have watched SOOO many movies lately with the plot premise of mistaken identity. There wasn't much to like about this film, but the acting was actually pretty solid. I disagree with all the nominations. This may end up being my least favorite for the year at this rate.

5.52/10.


Block-Heads

I have been very outspoken about my dislike of Laurel and Hardy films, so when I saw this was next, I was glad it was only an hour long and I could smash it out and move on. BUT I actually quite enjoyed this one. I audibly laughed several times. This humour appealed to me a lot more than most of their other nominated movies I've seen. I particularly enjoyed the truck dumping onto the car, the mix-up about the leg, the curtain shade gag, and the hill of bean cans. A lot to like about this film but no comedy perfection. I'm not sure that it warranted the nomination but I'm glad it was so I could change my mind a little about the comedy stylings of Laurel and Hardy.

6.7/10.


Blockade

I didn't hate this one as much as the critics obviously did with a 5.6 IMDB score. The plot was a bit ridiculous but entertaining enough and I liked the message the film was trying to convey - but heartbreaking that it was made so close to the next war. Henry Fonda's acting was very good, but he was totally miscast in this movie. I wasn't buying him as a Spanish farmer! Carroll was ok at times, but really over-the-top most of the time. It doesn't help that her character was poorly written and the dialogue unnecessary flowery and silly at times. The score for the movie was actually really good. Other than that, nothing else is of note. I disagree with the Original Story nomination, but I do agree with the nomination for the movie's score.

6.93/10.


Boys Town

I have watched this movie several times over my life, discovering it when a teenager and being moved to tears by Roony's performance. It's the first movie in this journey that my husband said he has previously watched and enjoyed. So last night, we sat down with some popcorn to watch it again. I was surprised that I had forgotten some plot points, like Whitey getting held up in the tavern. There were a few points that were too coincidental to be taken seriously, but overall, it's such a great story and wonderful theme. The acting is brilliant by all, but the understated, calm, stoic character of Father Flanagan is so wonderfully played by Tracy. I'm surprised this movie wasn't nominated for Score, because that was pretty good. For me, it warrants every single award it was nominated for, plus I think Rooney and the score should also have been recognised. A wonderful film.

7.82/10.


Brave Little Tailor

I liked this cartoon a lot. The plot was good (I didn't realise it was a Grimm fairytale, but it explains a lot) and it was snappy and clever. I liked the way they drew the items that the Giant used. I liked the popping of the pumpkins and the cigar. The ending was a bit quick, but overall, a great cartoon. Good score too. Felt quite modern.

7.05/10


Breaking the Ice

My bad but I was a bit distracted through this one. However, if you remember that it is aimed for kids, it's not so bad. I liked the child ice skater, and I like Bobby's voice. Not sure what in the world was going on in the plot, but that's not why people would have watched the movie. It's for the talented kids and they did a good job. This didn't deserve any Oscar nominations and it is really forgettable. Not recommended.

5.86/10


Carefree

This plot was ridiculous and there was no good underlying theme but that's not why I watch Astaire-Rogers films. The acting was ok; the highlight being Ginger Roger's comedy (she's so good at it!). This had fantastic art design elements. Lovely sets, great costumes, lots to see. But what I came to see was the dancing. Unfortunately, there wasn't a lot of it, but the dream dance was absolutely divine. I also liked the dance at the golf club. If you turn your brain off, it's an entertaining but don't think about it too hard because it's kinda creepy. I think all the nominations were warranted.

7.25/10


Ferdinand the Bull

Sweet but a bit boring for me. I liked the theme of being true to yourself but there wasn't much plot to speak of. I liked the animation of the Spanish girls. Nice moral but a bit underwhelming. So far, I prefer the Brave Little Tailor.

6.2/10.


Four Daughters

Oh, I loved this movie!!! The plot kept me interested the whole time and I was really moved by all the characters. The theme was beautiful and the whole movie was charming. I think Felix was very good looking, but I think I would have gone with Ernest. The acting was so good. I loved all the actors and actresses! Soft spot for May Robson. She was wonderful. The actresses were all so pretty and the men very dapper. The dialogue was fantastic in this movie. I really enjoyed so much of it! The editing, cinematography, and art design were great. I loved the blossom tree in the yard. Lots of good close-ups and ability to show emotion. And the house was so lovely done up for the wedding. Oh, and the picnic! I want to join that family! Not much to fault in this film at all. One of my favourites now. I could easily watch this again. I think it totally earned all the nominations, but I would also add Supporting Actor of Claude Rains and Supporting Actress for May Robson. I didn't expect for this to be one of my faves for the year, but I really can't fault it much.

8.02/10.


Girls' School

This was ok, but I absolutely hated the ending! This is a typical teen movie. The girls overacted at times, and I felt the relationship between Mr Simpson and Natalie was grossly inappropriate and creepy, but it was entertaining enough. Definitely in the lower half of the movies for the year for me. The score was pretty good, but I don't see it winning in my books.

6.43/10


Going Places

I like Dick Powell's voice, but there wasn't enough of him singing in this film. That would be forgiven with a good plot, but this plot was woeful! I don't have a lot of good things to say about this movie. Seeing Ronald Reagen was interesting. I liked Louis Armstrong's stuff, but I've heard much better version of Jeepers Creepers. The whole having a song that changed the horse's behaviours was a lot like A Day at the Races. This potentially may be the movie I rate as the worst. I'm ok with the nomination though.

5.48/10


Good Scouts

This had some funny moments, I liked when Donald hit the tree and I giggled when I read the sign of Old Reliable. The geyser scene went on too long, and I didn't like the ending. I also have issued with Donald's voice because I can't understand what he's saying. Still, a good children's cartoon.

5.91


Holiday

Oh gosh! There are so many good movies so far this year. I adored this movie. The plot was good, and I loved the underlying message of the movie. I loved the money versus life, snobs versus the everyday man critique - and I can't believe that Edward Evertt Horton was so convincing as NOT a snob! He did a great job. Lew Ayres was great. Cary is amazing. Good looks and totally believable and makes such great chemistry with the leading actresses. And then there's Hepburn. I think this is my favourite performance of hers so far. She's such a delight. The dialogue in this movie was divine and entertaining the whole way through. I loved the party in the playroom. Highlight of the movie for me. The cinematography was really nice, but the art design was soooo good. I could easily watch this movie many times. This is going to be a very hard year to judge. I'm loving almost every second film at this point! I completely agree with the art design nomination, but Grant, Hepburn, and Horton should have been nominated for acting too.

7.84/10


Hunky and Spunky

This was a bit weird. I guess I'm used to Disney cartoons. The song was really nice and there were some good emotive scenes, but overall, it was underwhelming. The animation wasn't great, but it did utilise emotion well. I was really sad for the donkey when he got captured.

5.55/10


If I Were King

I love a good Colman film, but this was only mediocre. The plot was ok, but I would have liked a stronger theme with less dramatics. However, the dialogue in this movie was superb. I usually love Basil Rathbone, and he was nominated for this performance, but while I can see how good he is at character acting, this went a bit too far down the hammy route for me. The costumes deserve a big shout out. I'm not sure how historically accurate they were, but they were great. Highlight of the film for me was when Francoise spoke about the king when he was "disguised" in the tavern. An ok film which I think warranted all the nominations, except for maybe Rathbone's (which pains me to say). Comes over as a children's film - not that there's anything wrong with that.

7.10/10


Jezebel

Another pearler! Man, I hated Julie! I know that's the point, but it was played so well. The plot was good. I loved the theme behind it all and the concept of pride before a fall and redemption. Bette's acting was so good here. I'm not a huge fan but I thought this was brilliant. I loved the scene where she was singing. It portrayed in the inner emotion so well. And Bainter too, especially for when she finds out that Fonda brought a wife. The cinematography was lovely. I especially loved the scene where Fonda gets bitten by the mosquito and the ballroom scene. The costumes were great and were almost a character in themselves. That white dress was to die for! Overall, a very solid movie. I agree with all the nominations.

7.89/10.


Kentucky

I struggled with this one. At first, I was watching it on a large screen TV which distorted the image, and I couldn't hear it properly. Once I switched to watching it on my phone with earplugs, the visual was a lot better and I could hear more but not everything due to the way they talked. I felt like the whole civil war stuff was unnecessary to create a family feud between the characters. Once it was about the racehorses, I enjoyed it more. In general, this movie didn't appeal to me and appeared very racist. I agree with the Supporting Actor nomination for Brennan as he was unrecognisable but that's the only reason to watch this film. Not the worst movie I've seen so far for this year but down the bottom.

5.68/10.


Mad About Music

This is by far not the worst Deanna Durbin movie I've seen. Her voice has matured (or is mixed better) so it didn't grate on me like it usually does. In fact, I thought she was great in this film. I also really liked Herbert Marschall. What let me down here is the implausibility of the plot, even for a kid's film. The art design was a bit too rustic in places. It had its charms but I'm not sure I'll remember this movie long term. I disagree with the writing and art design nominations (however the girls costumes were fantastic), I'm undecided on cinematography, but I'll give them the scoring nomination. Not a terrible movie, but not fantastic either.

6/10.


Mannequin

After the first 20 minutes, I thought I'd hate this movie and hate Tracy's character. But I was wrong. I ended up really enjoying this movie. I wasn't a fan of Crawford's acting - a bit overdone. Leo Gorsky was annoying. Pa and Mrs Cassidy were played well, and Alan Curtis was pretty good too. Tracy was brilliant! I should greatly dislike him, but I just couldn't. And his acting at the end was so good! The chemistry between them was quite good. I love how they should about those vicious cycles where some people marry into the very situations they are trying to run away from. The editing wasn't good though. I disagree with the nomination for the song, which was very nothingy. I think Tracy deserves the nomination, but he already has one for Boys Town - and it shows his skill that he can show the poor caring priest of Boys Town alongside the millionaire stalker in the same year. Enjoyable film but has issues to modern eyes.

6.93/10


Marie Antoinette

I loved and disliked this film. Let me explain. I couldn't stand Norma Shearer's acting in this movie. It ruined it for me. It felt like she hadn't moved on from the silent era, with exaggerated hand gestures and over the top displays of emotion. There is no nuance. You are watching Shearer pretend to be Antoinette, not losing the sense of the actress themselves in the character portrayal. It was also ridiculous to have the age of actors/actresses that they cast. That said, the rest of the movie is absolutely beautiful. The score was exceptional. The cinematography, art design, costumes, directing were all so well done. I loved the interesting camera angles and panning. So many of the scenes were breathtaking. It's a shame that I will remember the dresses and hairstyles more than the performances, with the exception of Morley who I think did a fantastic job on his big movie debut. Joseph Schildkraut was good too. I don't think Shearer should have been nominated, but I agree with Morley's (however, I felt he was in the movie enough not be a Supporting Actor and he should have been billed over, or alongside, Power). I agree with Score and Art Design but felt a Cinematography and Directing nomination would have been apt too.

7.7/10.


Merrily We Live

Oof, this is one where I completely disagree with the critics and the IMDB score. I couldn’t get into this movie. I like comedy but for me, the jokes fell completely flat and were groanworthy. There were a few bits of dialogue that made me smile slightly but for the most part, I was bored. The plot has been done a million times before and I couldn’t see anything special about the way it was done here. I found all the characters irritating to the extreme. I didn’t find anything interesting in the way it was filmed. However, I really enjoyed the opening song. I disagree with some of the nominations. I don’t understand the art design and cinematography nominations at all! If Billie Burke’s character is meant to annoying the living daylights out of me, then she accomplished that with bells on, so if that’s the case, I don’t mind her nomination. Sound was ok, and I actually agree with the Song nomination as that was the highlight of the film for me. I’m not sure if I’m just missing what other and better critics than me are seeing, but I found this one instantly forgettable for anything other than being annoying.

6.23/10.


Mother Goose Goes to Hollywood

This was a lot of fun! There was only one or two characters I didn't recognise. This was really humorous too and seeing Katherine Hepburn as Bo Peep searching for her sheep in weird places made me giggle. It wasn't as clever as some animations, but it was lively and interesting.

6.55/10.


Of Human Hearts

I enjoyed the first half of this movie, but it got more and more ridiculous the closer it got to the end. I think the premise was there, but it could have been so much better. It would have had more impact to me if the eye-opening talk could have been with a dying man or a bereaved mother in the field, rather than with Abraham Lincoln. It made it feel so twee. It's hard to see James Stewart in an uncaring role, but he made it believable. Bondi was very good. Very understated. I thought a bit more emotion when the Pastor was sick would have been good, but maybe that is how the character is meant to be. Huston did a good job and some of his dialogue was great. Overall, it's a good movie, but not a great one. Still good entertainment and an important message. I agree with Bondi's nomination.

7.14/10.


Pacific Liner

Not bad, not good either. The plot could have made for a better movie - a cholera outbreak in a ship, but it just didn't mesh. It didn't really have a consistent theme or characters that grew through the process. The acting was ok, and it was good to see Chester Morris who I haven't seen in a long time. I thought the movie had some lovely choices of close-ups and shots of the machinery. The faces over the fire were a bit cliche but effective. But this movie failed on the emotional side. I didn't feel engaged with any of the characters. I'm ok with the score nomination because that was done really well, but overall, it's not a movie I recommend.

6.48/10.


Pygmalion

I love character driven movies and this one had it in spades. Although I haven't yet watched My Fair Lady, I know enough about it to know this was the movie (and before that, the play) on which it was based. I found the plot interesting and the theme of class and gender struggle and equality very enthralling. I thought most of the acting was absolutely superb. Normally I find Howard a bit underwhelming, but I thought he was perfect here. There were some cool effects and shots, and I found the recording studio quite futuristic. The editing is probably some of the best I've seen on the journey so far. And the directing was so good. I can't fault this movie much. I loved the costumes. I love Eliza's spark and the witty dialogue. Hillier's acting was amazing too. I felt Lawson overdid it a bit but maybe he was meant to. One of my faves for sure! Therefore, I agree with the Best Picture nomination - in fact I agree with all the nominations but feel maybe Howard should have also been nominated for Director and I think the movie also deserved an editing nomination.

8.18/10.


Spawn of the North

Terrible title. I liked this one more than the critics did. The opening song was a knockout but I think what they thought of as a highlight, the nature scene at the beginning, I thought were boring. Henry Fonda did quite a good job and boy howdy, he is nice to look at. Barrymore's dialogue was enjoyable. It was nice to see two great families of cinema - the Barrymore's and the Fonda's - on the screen at the same time. If only they knew their legacies. Apparently Jane Fonda was on Drew Barrymore's show recently and it makes me want to watch that! Anyway, I think the real star of the movie was the seal. He was so cute! Noisy though. Forgive my ignorance I would have thought the native people were Inuit instead of Indian but I don't know. There were some nice shots, especially in the blooming orchard, and the excitement of the final scenes, and the birthday party with the empty chair. Overall, it was a good watch but not must-see. It got an honorary Oscar for "outstanding achievements in creating special photographic and sound effects" but to modern eyes, it's nothing special.

7.11/10.


Storm over Bengal

Instantly forgettable. I watched this yesterday and had to look up what the movie looked like to remember which one it was! The plot was boring, and the theme was the usual heroic bravado. Cromwell acted ok but I wasn't a fan of Hudson. It wasn't the worst movie I've seen for this year, but it wasn't great. The ending with the hands of the three was touching. I don't remember the score being all that great but fine, I'll go with the nomination.

6.41/10


Suez

This movie has a lot of very good-looking people in it! The plot was fairly standard but kept my interest the whole time. There wasn't much of a theme to the movie. I was really impressed by Annabella in the beginning of the movie. The short hair looked great and the pool scene in a white shirt certainly captured my husband's attention. The costumes were great too and I particularly loved the jeweled snood. Power was good, but he showed more emotion talking about his canal than he did when his father and friends died. I was impressed by Schildkraut again. Maybe he is becoming one of my fav supporting actors? I disagree with the cinematography nomination, but I agree with the sound, and I even more agree with the score nomination as it was pretty great in places. But overall, middle of the road. Only recommended for Power or Young devotees.

6.82/10


Sweethearts

It's nice to watch a colour movie and the colour was pretty good here. They didn't go over the top. I liked Bolger's dancing but didn't care for his singing. This movie was pretty boring, really. There wasn't much of a plot, and the plot didn't really come into action until the second half and was super predictable. But that's the premise with most musicals of the time. The acting was pretty good - Frank Morgan was very good, Nelson was good, and I was surprised at how funny Jeanette was. She is more of a comedic actress than I gave her credit for. There were some funny bits of dialogue throughout too. I didn't love the songs; in fact, the Pretty as a Picture song was ridiculous. Highlights for me were the chemistry between McDonald and Eddy and the yellow dress from the shopping scene. But overall, a pretty forgettable film. I think it deserves the honorary Oscar for the use of colour because it did feel pretty innovative. And I'm ok with the sound and score nomination, although I'm glad it didn't win.

6.5/10.


Swingtime in the Movies

Eh. The jokes about the director's accent get very stale very quickly, then followed by a not funny skit about lisping that is actually painful to watch. The cafe scenes were good though. I think that would have been a cool job to meet the stars and know if they were nice off-camera or not. Bogart! Yay! The Kitchen Door song and dance was really fun. The river scenes were pretty, but the song was boring. The kissing scenes were uncomfortable. The frontier song was good, but the camera angles chosen for the dancers was very poor.

5.57/10.


Test Pilot

I started hating this movie and ended up really liking it. I think I might have a new favourite actor. First things first. I thought the texts at the end of the opening credits were really interesting. I like how it was placating the audience that air travel isn't that dangerous! Within the first few minutes on screen, I was blown away by the acting prowess of Spencer Tracy. I wasn't impressed with the editing of the film and I thought the romance at the beginning was too rushed and unrealistic. Some of the effects were laughable. Over the course of the movie, I found my heart, usually following after Gable, had turned towards Spencer and I thought if I had the choice, I'd choose him. The scene with the wife running after the ambulance brought a lump to my throat. Myrna is very pretty and a fantastic actress to boot. I love when Loy and Tracy were on the screen together. Her speech in the back of the cab was brilliant. Spencer's scene about Anne's future! Wow! There were some moments of fantastic dialogue. The casting worked well. I loved the cinematography of seeing Spencer through the doors. Some important themes of grief and thankfulness shine through. It tugged at my heartstrings to remember how Gable's wife would die a few years after Gable made this movie. Very sad. I was nonplussed with the first solid half an hour of this movie, but the rest kinda makes up for it. I know have Colman at the top of my hearthrobs list, but Spencer at the top of my actors list. A must for Loy, Gabe, or Tracy fans. I don't agree with any of the nominations this film received, but Tracy should have been nominated for Best Supporting Actor again.

6.85/10


That Certain Age

This wasn't as bad as I was expecting. In fact, I had quite a few laugh out loud moments. The plot isn't anything fascinating, but it is fairly unique so far for my journey through the Oscars. It was great to see child actors in their teenage years, and I think that was an attraction back then too. I think they all did a pretty good job. There is nothing outstanding about this film, but it was enjoyable. Highlights for me were Juanita Quigley, the little girl who read Alice's diary, the lovely dress that Alice wore to the party, and the noise-making scene. But I have a feeling I'll forget these over time. The sound recording was pretty good, but I don't think the nominations were warranted overall. This one is for the Durbin or Cooper fans.

6.66/10.


That Mothers Might Live

A one-reel documentary about Dr. Ignaz Semmelweis. It was quite good. I was wondering where he fit in with Lister and Pasteur and the film answered that. What I really liked about this was the cinematic display of Semmelweis descending into madness. Quite good for a quick little film. I'm grateful to Semmelweis for his work! There are some pretty cool stats and facts about his life that I wish they included, though. I agree with the nomination.

6.52/10.


The Adventures of Robin Hood

I liked how the movie focused more on the action than on the romance. I am also a real fan of the theme of stealing from the ungiving rich and giving to the deserving poor. I was a bit disappointed in Flynn's acting but loved Rathbone! The cinematography was great in parts. I'm torn about the Art Design. Some things looked so fantastic, and some things and costumes looked like a high school play. What I loved most was the fantastic soundtrack. Highlights for me were the staff fight on the river with Little John (Hale) and the sword fight with Rathbone. Not my favourite movie for the year but it definitely is in the top half. It's not in my nominations for Best Picture but I can see why it was in 1939. I'm ok with the Art Direction nomination, but I don't think it should have one. Check out who I think all the winners would be at the end of this post! I wasn't blown away by the editing but I guess I'm fine with the nomination. I completely agree with the nomination for the score. Fantastic work there. One of the best scores so far on this journey, with the exception for Snow White which was fantastic too. Rathbone should have been nominated for Supporting Actor I think.

7.5/10.


The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

I enjoyed this one. Lots of great tension. But I count myself very lucky that my son wasn't anything like Tom or Sid. The plot was pretty good. It annoyed me though that Tom was lauded as a hero when it was his fault to begin with, both the church scenes and the cave. The cave scenes were great and very suspenseful. It was let down by the acting but considering it's a kids film, it plays out well. A lot happened in a short time so I never got bored but I couldn't really relate to the characters. But vey enjoyable. Overall, I don't agree with the nomination but I'm still glad I watched the movie.

7.09/10.


The Big Broadcast of 1939

I accidentally watched this movie a little while ago (I thought it was The Big Broadcast of 1936!). I had rated it 7/10 but didn't have any notes so I rewatched it. Upon the rewatching, it rated less than 6. While humorous, the jokes go on too long. I dislike some of the performers immensely - I don't like Martha Raye in this movie, and I can't understand a single word that WC Fields says. Only bright spot was whenever Bob Hope was on the screen. A particular highlight of the movie for me was when all of his ex-wives show up at the jail. I'm ok with the song nomination but glad it wasn't nominated in anything else. Not my cup of tea.

5.75/10.


The Buccaneer

Hmmm, I liked it but didn't love it. The plot was pretty good and kept me interested but not riveted. I liked the theme of trying to become respectable. But I love Fredric March. His acting was really great, but the accent threw me a bit. I felt like everything was just a bit under par. Everything was ok without being fabulous. It's very typically "a DeMille" picture. Over the top, shiny, theatrical, but misses the substance and the soul. Thinking back, I can' really say I remember one scene any more than another, but I did like the part where the lady says that a gentleman only wears one ring, so he discards it. I'm ok with the cinematography nomination as I love Milner's work, but I'm glad it didn't win because he has done much better in other films.

6.52/10.


The Citadel

I absolutely loved the first half of this movie. The scenes of the working class were very impactful. I loved the way Manson stood up to the bludgers and wouldn't sign their certificates. I love the modest and innocent relationship with his wife. It was so good. And I loved the theme about him taking on work for money over care and thought that was brilliant. The problem was that the rich part went on way too long, and then the ending was way too quick and unsatisfying. I got too bored during the rich section that I stopped caring, and I would have liked that part shortened so we could have the redemption arc and then we could get a better ending, like he joins a research facility or gets on some type of medical board. If the movie went the way I wanted, it would have been top 3, but currently it sits just outside my top 10 for the year, which is harsh, but there is a lot of quality films for this year! I completely agree with the Best Actor nomination for Donat. I thought he was spectacular, and it will be hard to go against him in the final choices! I love Vidor work's but I'm not sure this one was his usual standard but I'm certainly not unhappy with the nomination. While I didn't love the ending, I'm also ok with the nomination for screenplay. I disagree with the nomination of Best Picture but again, I'm not unhappy with it.

7.23/10.


The Cowboy and the Lady

I gave this a much higher score than IMDB. Personally, I loved it! It was really fun and had such brilliant acting, cinematography, and dialogue. I especially liked Harry Davenport and the dialogue they gave him was so entertaining. Cooper and Oberon's acting was brilliant and the chemistry between them was fantastic. There were moments of great tension and I love the suggestive scene where they turn off the lights in the cabin. I can't really fault this movie. The theme of being prejudice was great because they ran it both ways, and while there were things that were unrealistic, it added to the whimsy. I loved the ending. I loved the way Stretch would pull on Ma's apron strings, and the whole make-believe section when he was in the new house. What surprises me about this film is the Oscar nominations. It was nominated for things I didn't notice as being brilliant, while it wasn't nominated for all the things I loved. I'm fine with the nominations it got, but I think Cooper and Oberon should have been nominated for Acting awards, and even Davenport for Supporting (although I'm not sure he was in the movie enough to warrant it). And I think it should have also been nominated for a screenplay and cinematography award. This one is underrated.

7.38/10.


The Declaration of Independence

Eh. It was quite interesting as it's not a part of history I know well but now that I've seen Daveed Diggs as Jefferson, every other portrayal seems wrong. I don't have a lot to say about it. I'm fine with the nomination as they made it feel like a movie even though it was less than 20 minutes long. Just not my jam.

6.43/10.


The Goldwyn Follies

Boring! The plot was ridiculous and there wasn't anything to save it. I felt sorry for Menjou's character. The acting was terrible - I couldn't tell who was pretending to be a bad actor and who wasn't. Some of the acts really grated on my nerves - I didn't like the ventriloquist (after all, his mouth moved way too much!) and I absolutely despise the Ritz Brothers. I can't see their appeal at all. I give this movie a few points for lovely costumes. The ballet scenes were quite nice and a few of the songs were enjoyable. And because of that, I guess I'm ok with the nominations (Art Direction and Scoring). But overall, this was definitely in the bottom 10 of the year.

5.8/10


The Grand Illusion

This is the first foreign language film I've seen on this journey. And I loved it. The plot was fantastic and engaging the whole way. I wasn't bored at any point. It seemed realistic and had many points of tension. It felt a bit like Hogan's Heroes mixed with The Great Escape, and it was very successful and feeling authentic. There were some very powerful themes of anti-war, antisemitism, class divides, language barriers. The acting was pretty good all-round. Some of the dialogue was absolutely breathtaking. I especially "You can't see borders - they're man-made. Nature couldn't care less." The editing could have been better, but the cinematography was absolutely wonderful in many scenes. I loved the scenes with the escapees in the farmhouse and the nativity made out of potato. I loved the end shot with the two black figures walking away in the thick snow. I loved the symbolism of the geranium. And I loved the camaraderie of the prisoners in the camps. This is a very memorable movie. It was only nominated for Best Picture, and I think that was warranted (currently it sits at joint 3rd for me for the year). But I think it should have also been nominated for writing and for cinematography. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind reading subtitles.

7.89/10.


The Great Heart

This was interesting. I hadn't heard of Father Damien before. I didn't like the narration much, but the plot was interesting. However, it was rushed, and I wanted to know more. This needs to be (and probably is) a full-length movie.

6.57/10.


The Great Waltz

I didn't find it that great! It probably didn't help that I did some stitching while watching this movie, but every time I put my eyes on the screen, I got annoyed. I thought Gravey was quite good, but Luise Rainer completely annoyed me. It's like she can only play one part, one of a submissive, melancholy wife, and I hated it. Overall, I thought the plot was too contrived and the acting too terrible overall. The songs were good but either passed over without comment or else created implausibly. I think a Strauss fan and/or opera fan would enjoy this much more than I did. This was nominated for Best Support Actress for Miliza Korjus, and while she was ok, I don't think it was award nomination worthy. Film editing? Yeah, ok. Maybe it should have been nominated for art direction. But how it won for cinematography I just don't know. I wouldn't have even nominated it. The Great Smaltz might be more appropriate.

6.14/10.


The Lady Objects

I got a higher score than what others determined on IMDB. I think maybe because the ending wasn't to their taste, because overall, it wasn't that bad. The plot kept ticking along. It was implausible at times and there wasn't much motive for some of the decisions, but it was fairly entertaining. While I agree the ending wasn't good, it certainly highlighted to me that the love of money breeds unhappiness. The acting was pretty good, and I was glad to finally see Gloria Stuart in something other than Titanic. I enjoyed the court scenes, and the signature stunt was fantastic. Good have been so much more.This was only nominated for a particular song. That's all it deserved.

6.66/10


The Young in Heart

I haven't seen a Janet Gaynor movie for a while so it was nice to see her and Fairbanks Junior. The plot had me guessing. I really thought that Miss Fortune would end up being George-Ann from the future. Although I liked my ending, the ending it had was very nice. This was feel-good and nice to see these actors play semi-villains for a while. The train crash scenes were done well I thought. There were quite a few very funny moments. This isn't a fantastic movie, but it's still enjoyable and solid. It was nominated for cinematography, which I'm ok with but I don't actually see that much merit there. I can't remember there being a fantastic score but ok. I'm not sure why my score is so much lower than IMDB, but I feel I can't go much higher than this.

6.82/10.


There Goes My Heart

I wanted to like this one more than I did, but I enjoyed it enough. I love Fredric March and I thought he did a fantastic job in this movie. I was worried he would overplay in a comedy, but he got the balance superbly right. I liked the plot and there were funny moments. But it just felt a bit too long with nothing new going on in the second half. I would have liked a punchier ending. I found the flashing lights to be quite funny! This was nominated for scoring, and I'm ok with that. Nothing out of this world but still good. I enjoyed watching March in this kind of role.

6.8/10.


They're Always Caught

I liked this a lot. Forensics is always interesting to me and seeing the old school stuff was pretty cool. So much harder before good fingerprints and DNA! The plot was engaging although very unrealistic. The dropped powder in the hair. That would never fly these days! Nothing too special to note about how the film was made but it was entertaining none the less. I feel it completely warranted the nomination.

6.55/10.


Three Comrades

I have mixed feelings about this movie. The plot was a bit ridiculous at times but at least it had something to say. I thought the ending was silly and Patricia was so ungrateful to those trying to help her. Robert Taylor is very easy on the eye! I thought the acting by all was fantastic. The special effects weren't great and drew me out of the film a bit. The cinematography and art design were ok without being outstanding. I liked the score. Most memorable moment was when Patricia got out of bed, and I started yelling at the TV that she was a stupid woman. Margaret Sullivan was nominated for Best Actress in this film, and I don't disagree with the nomination.

6.73/10.


Tropic Holiday

Golly. This was dreadful! I'm not a Martha Raye fan and I didn't know the other actors or actresses (except Lamour of course). I don't really have anything nice to say about this film. I liked one of the songs that Lamour sang as it felt quite different, but I can't even remember the name of it. The bull ring sequence was silly. The movie had nothing to say, and I definitely endured it rather than enjoying it. Not my cup of tea but also not my worst film for the year. I guess I'm ok with the nomination as there were some interesting music choices, but overall, not worth anyone's time.

5.64/10.


Under Western Stars

I enjoyed this one more than the critics. I knew it was a Western, but it certainly wasn't what I expected. This was more politics than shoot-em-up. The plot was ok - it bothered me that the good guy did some pretty underhanded things. But the underlying theme was good. It must have really packed a punch for families of farmers that remembered the terrible dust-bowl conditions and those still battling with drought. I haven't seen a Roy Rogers film before, but I really liked him. His yodeling was amazing. Highlight of this movie was the Dust song. That was absolutely brilliant and completely deserved the Oscar nomination. I found it so moving!

6.57/10


Vivacious Lady

I really loved this movie. There wasn't much to the plot or theme, but it was sooo funny! I've always found Ginger Rogers to be an excellent comedienne on screen and the chemistry between her and Stewart was fantastic. Stewart played his role to perfection, as did all of the characters really. There wasn't much that was groundbreaking in the film to deserve a high score, but I could watch it again and again. It was brilliant. My favourite scenes were the fight scene, the bride and groom from the cake, and when the uni people see Stewart's character is drunk. So many great moments.

It was nominated for Best Cinematography and Sound Recording. I'm not so sure about those, but I think Rogers could have been nominated. It deserves something but I don't know which category. The first half an hour dragged a bit, but once the plot was established, it was darn close to perfection. Oh, the dancing scene with the mother! So many good points. I highly recommend this one.

7.20/10


White Banners

2 fantastic movies in a row! This was wonderful. I loved the feel of this movie. The theme really resondated with me. It's probably not a theme for modern audiences, but it really inspired me. Fay Bainter and Claude Raines were absolutely amazing. Jackie Cooper was good too. The dialogue was wonderful. I loved the humility, sacrifice, and compassion that came across in this film. I aspire to be like Hannah. My favourite scenes were when Paul was upset, the initial meeting of the women in the kitchen, and Hannah and Peter waiting to see if the daughter would be ok. Twee but lovely. This was nominated for Fay Bainter's performance and I completely agree with it.

7.16/10.


You Can't Take It With You

OK, I think I'm missing something because I rated this so much lower than everyone else in IMDB land. My problem was that I got really bored! There were some great aspects - Barrymore's performance was good (when I could understand him - he mumbled too much). I liked Donald Meeks as Poppins too. And I loved the theme of money not being everything and being free from the rat race and pursuing what makes your heart sing and having friends is more important than having money. But urgh, I couldn't get into the movie enough to care much about the characters. I watched the movie last night and can't even really recall any scenes that I thought were great. I feel it was two movies - one about a rich man and a poor woman in love (but I never believed Arthur's character was in love so I didn't buy that), and the other about the grandfather. I would have been more interested if the movie was all about the grandfather (without the love interest sideline) and how he came to be that way, and the rich man looses it all on the stockmarket and joins the household as, like a painter or one-man band or something. I know it's based on a play but if it was my world, I would have changed it more. I guess it just wasn't my cup of tea. It had so many Oscar wins and nominations. It was nominated for Editing (yeah, ok), Sound Recording (I disagree), Cinematography (I disagree?), Writing - Screenplay (yeah, ok), Director (agree), Supporting Actress - Spring Byington (agree), and won for Best Picture (disagree).

6.66/10.

____________________________________________________________________________________________



Below is the list of nominees with the winner at the top but my choice is underlined.


Outstanding Production

You Can't Take It with You – Frank Capra for Columbia

The Adventures of Robin Hood – Hal B. Wallis and Henry Blanke for Warner Bros.

Alexander's Ragtime Band – Darryl F. Zanuck and Harry Joe Brown for 20th Century Fox

Boys Town – John W. Considine Jr. for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

The Citadel – Victor Saville for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Four Daughters – Hal B. Wallis and Henry Blanke for Warner Bros. and First National

Grand Illusion – Frank Rollmer and Albert Pinkovitch for R. A. C. and World Pictures

Jezebel – Hal B. Wallis and Henry Blanke for Warner Bros.

Pygmalion – Gabriel Pascal for Pascal Film Productions

Test Pilot – Louis D. Lighton for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer


I actually agree with most of these nominations. There were some great films from this year and it was hard to choose between them. My winner was Pygmalion (8.18/10). There was so much to like about that film and the way it was made. My second favourite was Four Daughters (8.02), and third place was Grand Illusion (7.89/10). All of these movies were nominated. However, I wasn't a fan of the movie that ended up wining, with it being number 30 in my list.


My least favourite movie was Going Places (5.48/10).


Best Director

Frank Capra – You Can't Take It with You

Michael Curtiz – Angels with Dirty Faces

Norman Taurog – Boys Town

King Vidor – The Citadel

Michael Curtiz – Four Daughters


My top three directors all weren't nominated. My favourite for this year was Jean Renoir for Grand Illusion. I love directors that feel innovative so for me, he just pips Acquith for Pygmalion. I felt Capra is an Academy favourite so I feel he phoned this one in. Out of those nominated, it's a tie for me between Vidor and Curtiz. But Renoir's film was stunning in so many regards.


Best Actor

Spencer Tracy – Boys Town as Father Edward J. Flanagan

Charles Boyer – Algiers as Pepe le Moko

James Cagney – Angels with Dirty Faces as William "Rocky" Sullivan

Robert Donat – The Citadel as Dr Andrew Manson

Leslie Howard – Pygmalion as Professor Henry Higgins


Don't get me wrong. I absolutely adored Spencert Tracy in Boys Town, but I was stunned by Howard's performance. It was captivating. I also really loved Donat's performance.I think it was stiff of Cary Grant (for Holiday) and Claude Raines (for Four Daughters) to miss out on a nomination. I loved Spencer Tracy in his many roles for the year, so if you add them up, he deserves the Oscar, but as a one-off performance, it's Howard for me.


Best Actress

Bette Davis – Jezebel as Julie Marsden

Fay Bainter – White Banners as Hannah Parmalee

Wendy Hiller – Pygmalion as Eliza Doolittle

Norma Shearer – Marie Antoinette as Marie Antoinette

Margaret Sullavan – Three Comrades as Patricia Hollmann


I agree with this winner (although I loved Fay Bainter in White Banners!). Her performance was sublime and so deep. I'm pretty happy with all of these nominations as there were some pretty phenomenal performances from these movies. Only one nomination that I would have liked to have seen was Hepburn for Holiday.


Best Supporting Actor

Walter Brennan – Kentucky as Peter Goodwin

John Garfield – Four Daughters as Mickey Borden

Gene Lockhart – Algiers as Regis

Robert Morley – Marie Antoinette as King Louis XVI

Basil Rathbone – If I Were King as King Louis XI


My vote is for Rathbone, but not for If I Were King, but for The Adventures of Robin Hood. He is such a wonderfully character-driven actor and I love watching his movies. Most of the nominations were so warranted! Morley was also amazing in his role. Garfield didn't have enough screen time for me to give the award to him but he was great, and I loved Lochkart in Algiers. While I love Brennan, I wasn't keen on him in Kentucky.


Best Supporting Actress

Fay Bainter – Jezebel as Aunt Belle Massey

Beulah Bondi – Of Human Hearts as Mary Wilkins

Billie Burke – Merrily We Live as Emily Kilbourne

Spring Byington – You Can't Take It with You as Penelope "Penny" Sycamore

Miliza Korjus – The Great Waltz as Carla Donner


Wow, this is such a hard decision. I will go with Fay Bainter as she was wonderful in the awkward scene in Jezebel, but also was a delight in White Banners, so I'm cheating a bit and award it to her for both. Bondi was also brilliant.


Best Original Story

Boys Town – Eleanore Griffin and Dore Schary

Alexander's Ragtime Band – Irving Berlin

Angels with Dirty Faces – Rowland Brown

Blockade – John Howard Lawson

Mad About Music – Marcella Burke and Frederick Kohner

Test Pilot – Frank Wead


Agreed. The stand out from the list of nominations. Tear-jerking, wholesome, and character-driven. Beautiful.


Best Screenplay

Pygmalion – George Bernard Shaw, Ian Dalrymple, Cecil Lewis, and W. P. Lipscomb, based on the play by Shaw

Boys Town – John Meehan and Dore Schary, based on a story by Schary and Eleanore Griffin

The Citadel – Ian Dalrymple, Elizabeth Hill and Frank Wead, based on the novel by A. J. Cronin

Four Daughters – Lenore Coffee and Julius J. Epstein, based on the short story "Sister Act" by Fannie Hurst

You Can't Take It with You – Robert Riskin, based on the play by George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart


Well, of course it's going to be Pygmalion for me when it was my favourite movie of the year. However Four Daughters was brilliant too.


Best Live Action Short Subject, One-Reel

That Mothers Might Live – MGM

The Great Heart – MGM

Timber Toppers – 20th Century Fox


I didn't get to see Timber Toppers but I saw the other two. I ended up giving scores that were so close! While I scored The Great Heart marginally higher, That Mothers Might Live is the one I remember more fondly. I think it gets over the line due to the madness scene.


Best Live Action Short Subject, Two-Reel

Declaration of Independence – Warner Bros.

Swingtime in the Movies – Warner Bros.

They're Always Caught – MGM


None of them really grabbed me, but I like these Crime Doesn't Pay type series. The forensic techniques of the time were really interesting.


Best Short Subject, Cartoon

Ferdinand the Bull – Walt Disney Productions and RKO Radio

Brave Little Tailor – Walt Disney Productions and RKO Radio

Good Scouts – Walt Disney Productions and RKO Radio

Hunky and Spunky – Paramount

Mother Goose Goes Hollywood – Walt Disney Productions and RKO Radio


My favourite was the Brave Little Tailor (still Walt Disney). Felt quite modern and innovative. I liked the use of things as a giant would use them. Ferdinand was a bit too boring for me.


Best Original Score

The Adventures of Robin Hood – Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Army Girl – Victor Young

Block-Heads – Marvin Hatley

Blockade – Werner Janssen

Breaking the Ice – Victor Young

The Cowboy and the Lady – Alfred Newman

If I Were King – Richard Hageman

Marie Antoinette – Herbert Stothart

Pacific Liner – Russell Bennett

Suez – Louis Silvers

The Young in Heart – Franz Waxman


Agreed. So far, it's my second favourite score for a movie (behind Snow White). It brought so much to the feel of the movie, especially during the action sequences. Fantastic work. I also really liked the score of Marie Antionette.


Best Scoring

Alexander's Ragtime Band – Alfred Newman

Carefree – Victor Baravalle

Girls' School – Morris Stoloff and Gregory Stone

The Goldwyn Follies – Alfred Newman

Jezebel – Max Steiner

Mad About Music – Charles Previn and Frank Skinner

Storm Over Bengal – Cy Feuer

Sweethearts – Herbert Stothart

There Goes My Heart – Marvin Hatley

Tropic Holiday – Boris Morros

The Young in Heart – Franz Waxman


I'm not really sure what the difference is here. Maybe these had unoriginal songs throughout? Well, then, I guess I agree with the Academy here. The songs were great.


Best Song

"Thanks for the Memory" from The Big Broadcast of 1938 – Music by Ralph Rainger; Lyrics by Leo Robin

"Always and Always" from Mannequin – Music by Edward Ward; Lyrics by Chet Forrest and Bob Wright

"Change Partners" from Carefree – Music and Lyrics by Irving Berlin

"The Cowboy and the Lady" from The Cowboy and the Lady – Music by Lionel Newman; Lyrics by Arthur Quenzer

"Dust" from Under Western Stars – Music and Lyrics by Johnny Marvin

"Jeepers Creepers" from Going Places – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Johnny Mercer

"Merrily We Live" from Merrily We Live – Music by Phil Charig; Lyrics by Arthur Quenzer

"A Mist Over the Moon" from The Lady Objects – Music by Ben Oakland; Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II

"My Own" from That Certain Age – Music by Jimmy McHugh; Lyrics by Harold Adamson

"Now It Can Be Told" from Alexander's Ragtime Band – Music and Lyrics by Irving Berlin


Dust was easily my favourite song from these movies. Sure, there are some that have lasted the test of time. But Dust moved me while I was watching the film. Spectacular.


Best Sound Recording

The Cowboy and the Lady – Thomas T. Moulton

Army Girl – Charles L. Lootens

Four Daughters – Nathan Levinson

If I Were King – Loren L. Ryder

Merrily We Live – Elmer Raguse

Suez – Edmund H. Hansen

Sweethearts – Douglas Shearer

That Certain Age – Bernard B. Brown

Vivacious Lady – John O. Aalberg

You Can't Take It with You – John P. Livadary


A very hard one to judge but it was the one I agreed with most at the time of watching it.


Best Art Direction

The Adventures of Robin Hood – Carl Jules Weyl

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Lyle R. Wheeler

Alexander's Ragtime Band – Bernard Herzbrun and Boris Leven

Algiers – Alexander Toluboff

Carefree – Van Nest Polglase

The Goldwyn Follies – Richard Day

Holiday – Stephen Goosson and Lionel Banks

If I Were King – Hans Dreier and John B. Goodman

Mad About Music – Jack Otterson

Marie Antoinette – Cedric Gibbons

Merrily We Live – Charles D. Hall


My third Oscar for Cedric Gibbons. I obviously love his work. Such a visual delight with fantastic costumes, scenery, props, and all that yummy eye catching stuff. I really did like The Adventures of Robin Hood too, but Gibbons beat if for me. Holiday was also brilliant.


Best Cinematography

The Great Waltz – Joseph Ruttenberg

Algiers – James Wong Howe

Army Girl – Ernest Miller and Harry J. Wild

The Buccaneer – Victor Milner

Jezebel – Ernest Haller

Mad About Music – Joseph Valentine

Merrily We Live – Norbert Brodine

Suez – Peverell Marley

Vivacious Lady – Robert De Grasse

You Can't Take It with You – Joseph Walker

The Young in Heart – Leon Shamroy


My favourite wasn't nominated. I loved William H. Daniels from Marie Antoinette. There were some great uses of panning and interesting angles. It was beautiful. Honorable mention to Ernest Haller for Jezebel who was joint second in my opinion.


Best Film Editing

The Adventures of Robin Hood – Ralph Dawson

Alexander's Ragtime Band – Barbara McLean

The Great Waltz – Tom Held

Test Pilot – Tom Held

You Can't Take It with You – Gene Havlick


Again, my favourite wasn't nominated. I go for David Lean for Pygmalion. I wasn't really a fan of any of the nominations. Maybe I'm just bad at knowing good film editing!


Best Picture



Recent Posts

See All

1940 Oscars

Here is an alphabetical list of the movies I watched this year with a quick review and score. After I've watched them all, I'll give my opinion as to who should have won each Oscar. Babes in Arms I wa

bottom of page