top of page

1934 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

See below for my alphabetical list of movies I watched with a brief review and score. Click here to see the award winners and to whom I would have awarded the gong!


42nd Street

A bit of fun. The plot didn't grab me - this is a fluff piece that allows musical talent to shine. Denning is a heel, and I would have liked him to have more of a comeuppance at the end of the movie. The drunk stereotype is overplayed and gets repetitive. The reality of that fall breaking an ankle is questionable. However, there are quite a few funny moments that liven it up. The acting was ok. There were a lot of good-looking people in this film. The bit actors were terrible, though. Again, I really enjoyed Stone's performance, and he is one of my favourite actors that don't have a lead character tag. Ginger's entrance was fantastic (and the dog was adorable). Baxter's performance was pretty good, but I got annoyed at his character shouting all the time. Bebe and Keeler were both solid. I really like Dick Powell's acting and especially his singing. The music was enjoyable and boppy, and I recognised most of the songs. There were great moments of good cinematography. I liked the superimposing. The highlight of the film for me was the fantastic Berkley sequences! The shot under the legs of the chorus girls is iconic. The costumes were stunning! I love the use of shiny material. 30's fashion is something else! The sets were good, but maybe a little large for a theatre in real life.

6.8/10.


A Farewell to Arms

I had some issues with this film. I was so excited when I saw the credits. Cooper (yum!), Hayes, Borzage, Menjou - I expected big things. But I was let down by the acting and the plot. I was not too fond of the plot. Frederic is such a low-life, forcing himself on Catherine. And then Catherine pities him! Grrr. Look, I know we're in a time when issues of consent weren't called out, but this movie celebrated it. It didn't have a problem at all with the fact that he r*ped her!! The end doesn't justify the means. And then she says she loves him. Bleh. What a toxic relationship. I don't understand why Frederic couldn't leave the army if he wasn't Italian. The wedding bit was cute. Overall, the dialogue was ok, with some great lines. Hayes was ok, but to my dismay, I thought Cooper's acting was pretty bad. There wasn't a lot of chemistry between the actors either. I thought Jack La Rue as the priest was interesting. He reminded me of Sal Mineo. The height difference between Cooper and Hayes was huge, but it was a bit sexy when Frederic picked up Catherine to kiss her - nice! A highlight of this movie is that it's the first movie I've seen with a proper score to underline the romantic and action scenes of the film. It is such a vital part of the movie! Also, the sound effects were good too. The cinematography was another highlight of the movie. The lighting was great. I loved the scenes from Frederic's POV, looking at the decorated arches. Very clever. What didn't work so well was his POV in the hospital. That just came across as weird - especially Catherine's eye in our faces. The special effects weren't great. The trek to Switzerland was a little bit too long, but it got to display some action stuff. I liked the hands motif between Catherine's hands during labour and Frederic's rowing the boat. The end scene parallels with a wedding was the most clever part of the film. 6.1/10. Berkeley Square

I love time-travel novels and movies. But I didn't love this movie - it was ok. I didn't enjoy the first part of the movie but got into it more once he went back to the 18th Century. But then I got a bit bored again because I liked the clash of times and it wasn't portrayed enough for my liking. The plot was interesting but had A LOT of holes! It felt like it didn't quite gel. How did his clothes change? Where is the real Peter Standish? With the ending the way it was, shouldn't he have changed the future after all? Leslie Howard does a good job, but not a very memorable one. This one doesn't really stretch his acting chops. The others were serviceable too, but nothing stood out. The sound quality wasn't great, so it wasn't easy to hear. I enjoyed the use of modern and past sounds to emphasise which era they were in.

6.6/10.

Building a Building

The version I watched didn't have any sound, so I might unnecessarily be a little harsh on this cartoon. There were some funny moments; the highlights for me were the workers moving along the plank with their butts and when Mickey and Minnie go in the broken wheelbarrow and enjoy themselves like they're on a rollercoaster. Nothing too special. I still prefer last year's Flowers and Trees. 6.2/10. Cavalcade

I have one word - Ridiculous. The plot was terrible, cliche, and ridiculous. I felt a bit emotional when they waved the boys off to the Boer War, but after that point, I had no feelings. I don't understand why there was so much of the play and musicals in it. It made it unnecessarily long. I felt like the movie was trying to say too many things in one plot. I would have enjoyed a Downton Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs, type of saga, but this was trying to go into too many people at once, so I couldn't connect with anyone. I got eye strain from rolling my eyes too hard when I realised Edward and his wife were on the Titanic. Oh, and there is a bombing - oh no, someone said to go to the basement? Where is the basement? I don't know (hmm, maybe at the bottom of the building?!?) so let's go to the roof. How ridiculous! Some dialogue was ok. I mean, really! It was interesting to note how the characters felt about the Queen dying and how similar it was to recent events with the passing of QEII. It is also interesting how they complained about the fast pace of life back then - it certainly feels even faster now. The acting was, on the whole, terrible. I wanted Clive to be good in this film, as I felt it was a more appropriate role for him than the last movie of his that I watched, Shanghai Express. He was ok, but nothing special. I only liked the scenes where he was a father to the kids because that felt more real than the husband scenes. Merle Tottenham, who played Annie, was unbearable. Herbert Mundin, who played Alfred, was my favourite actor in the movie. Diana Wynyard as Jane was my favourite actress in the film too, but again, she didn't have any memorable acting scenes, and I was disappointed with her reaction to Joey dying. The score was bearable, but the songs weren't. The screaming kid that went on far too long annoyed the heck out of me. The only artistic cinematography was the confusing sequences of meshing and overlapping of sounds and images. I know it's supposed to portray chaos and war, but it wasn't very good! Some of the editing was a bit average too. On a highlight, though, the costumes were fantastic, especially in the early years. The hats were extraordinary. I thought I wouldn't hate an Oscar-winning Best Picture more than The Broadway Melody. I was wrong. 4.6/10. Gold Diggers of 1933

Yay! At last! A movie I really liked from 1934's nominations! I enjoyed the plot of the movie, and it had some surprises in store. The film has quite a lot of laughs. The end wrapped up a bit too quickly and nicely, but I loved the story overall. The acting was good across the board. I recognised a lot of them from 42nd Street, but this is the better movie, in my opinion. I think Ginger is a better dancer than singer, but the pig Latin bit was charming. They should have her dancing instead because I believe she is a more graceful dancer than Ruby. I was really impressed with the acting of Aline MacMahon, who played Trixie. The songs were fantastic! Obviously some are classic, as I still know them today. I liked the Sing to You and Torch songs, and I love Dick Powell's voice. The dance numbers were sooo Busby Berkley. I loved them! The rollerskating was a bit different, but the Park number was a bit silly and even awkward at times. That can opener bit? Yikes. But all is redeemed with the light-up violins. I actually gasped when I saw that! So innovative! There were some great cinematic close-ups and some interesting sideway angles. The flower causing a ripple in the water to mask the kiss was beautiful. The Forgotten Man song and dance were really powerful and had a lot to say, seeing as it was still Depression years. I had a smile on my face the whole time watching this movie (except maybe for the Park number). 7.8/10.

I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang

This was a powerful film. I really enjoyed the plot and was amazed to find out it is pretty much a true story. I felt disgusted with how the prisoners were treated and angry when James couldn't get his promised pardon. The film moves at a good pace and doesn't get boring at any time. It had a lot to say, and it said it well. The acting was fantastic. Paul Muni was superb. According to IMBD trivia, he did a lot of research into the role, which shows. There were a few scenes where maybe he overacted, but this is one of the best acting performances I've seen in a while. The supporting cast was good, too - no weak links in this movie. The sound was ok. I was annoyed at the car tyres screeching against bitumen sounds on dirt roads. Lots of movies do that, and it bugs me! There were some good cinematography moments, but some average editing let them down. Overall, this movie's highlights come from the acting and the story rather than the design. On a side note, I don't think the poster does the movie justice. 7.5/10 Lady For A Day

This was a cute movie, but I got a bit lost by the end. I think this is meant to be like a fairy tale, and while I liked some elements of the story, the ending was too weird. I had to look it up because I was unsure what was happening! The highlight of the movie for me was May Robson's performance. She was first-rate! The actual was pretty good all-round, and I liked the performances of Warren William and Guy Kibbee even more than their enjoyable acting in 42nd Street. 6.6/10 Little Women

I have seen this movie previously, but I wanted to watch it again so I could put it in context with the other movies from Oscar's from the same year. It's a fantastic plot that treasures charity and self-sacrifice, has a lovely Christmas feel and makes you want to be a better person. It was well-paced, which is so crucial in a slightly longish movie. I had to hold back the tears when Beth was sick. It's a nice plot and a nice movie. When I was younger, it bothered me that Jo and Laurie didn't end up together, but as I've grown up, I've come to understand it a lot more. The acting was pretty good. I was a bit disappointed in Joan Bennett's performance as Amy, but by gosh and Christopher Columbus, Katherine Hepburn was amazing! Yes, there were a few moments that might have been a bit overdone, but she steals the show in almost every scene. The way she acts with her eyes and facial expressions. Beautiful to watch. I thought Jean Parker as Beth and Douglass Montgomery as Laurie did good jobs too. The sound was pretty good, and the carol singing was beautiful. The repeat of the theme song throughout the film was great, as it became familiar, which is what the movie intends. There wasn't anything extraordinary about the cinematography, but the costumes were so great!

7.7/10.

Menu

I don't have a lot to say about this short, except that I found it interesting due to my love of vintage cooking and recipes. Yes, it was very gendered and stereotypical, but I got enjoyment from it purely as a time capsule. 5.4/10


Morning Glory

I Iove Katherine Hepburn and since she won an Oscar for this film, I wanted to love the movie, .... but I didn't. Yes, Katherine was great but I preferred her performance as Jo in Little Women. The chemistry between her and Fairbanks was pretty good. Adolphe Menjou was good too. But I got bored with the plot. I found her drunk scenes painful, not as in tension but as in it felt silly. It wasn't a terrible movie as there is a lot to like - the acting and the costumes, but it left me feeling a bit meh.

7.14/10.


One Way Passage

I love Powell movies! There is something about him that is just so wonderful. That said, this movie is a bit ridiculous. Still enjoyable though. Kay Francis' performance was wonderful. The ending was bittersweet. Only thing that really irritated me was the drunk guy's acting. Could have been done without playing so much to the stereotype.

7.54/10.

Rasputin and the Empress

Hmmm. This scored very low on IMDB and I'm not sure it warranted that low a score. Sure, the history and make-up isn't great and I admit it was too long and I got bored, but I got to give this movie some kudos. There were some great cinematography moments and good design choices. It was interesting to see all the Barrymore's acting together. But Lionel's performance is why I rate this movie. He was so creepy and I was genuinely weirded out by him.

7.2/10.


Reunion in Vienna

I watched this one straight after Rasputin and the Empress which was weird as there were some similarities between the two. I preferred the plot of this movie and John Barrymore's performance was delightfully nutty. It had a lot of great moments - but it was also a bit unnecessarily violent and had an uncomfortable ending. Fun to watch but I don't think it will be too memorable for me.

7.07/10.


She Done Him Wrong

My first (and hopefully my last) Mae West film. The plot and dialogue in this movie are very pre-Code. I know her character is meant to come across as sexy and bad-as$$, but to me, Lou just seems desperate and pathetic. Not sexy at all. The plot ended up making me feel sick. I have an issue with Mae being so beautiful that men can't resist her when I don't think she's attractive (she just has big assets). I would have liked to have seen Joan Crawford or even Katherine Hepburn in that role. A tough dame but natural sexiness rather than forced. The acting was pretty ho-hum too. Cary is gorgeous, and I liked his last 10 seconds of the film. Beery Snr looks so much like his brother. I didn't know Wallace had other actors in his family. He was pretty good too. I found Mae annoying - the way she walked, the way she talked, aaargh. When I liked her most was the scenes with other actresses. It seemed more genuine and less forced. There wasn't any chemistry between any of the couples. The bite and fight scene was ridiculous. The score was okay. The use of music at the beginning was fantastic, but it was let down by Mae's singing (which wasn't as bad as I thought it would be but still skip-worthy). Also, you could hear her dress as she moved, making the effect less than elegant. There wasn't any great cinematography, but what was sooo good about this movie was the costumes. Some of the hats were divine! And that glitter dress - wowzers. There was also another great dress at the end with the star/flower type design. If this movie were purely a fashion show, it would get some pretty high marks. It's not. It's a movie. And not a great one.

6.1/10.

Smilin' Through

I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. Yes, it was melodramatic and over the top, but sometimes, that's just the thing you need. I couldn't actually guess where the plot was going. At first, I thought it might be time travel and then maybe a love triangle, so at least it wasn't super predictable.

There were some big-name actors in this film. I'm not a fan of Leslie Howard's acting. Norma Shearer is ok, but Fredric March was superb! He can be a bit overboard sometimes, but overall I think he's great. They was good chemistry between Norma and Fredric. There was quite a bit of similarity to this role for Fredric as the last movie of his I watched, Dr Jeckyll and Mr Hyde. The score was pretty good. There were some good cinematographic elements, like a good use of shadows and some interesting camera views and panning. Good character placement too. The only drawback with the design element is that they didn't use period-specific clothes for the WWI period.

7/10.

So This Is Harris

What did I just watch!?! Was Phil Harris famous at this time period? I have no idea why, as his talent seems very limited. OK, the music was a bit catchy, but the singing was only so-so. Each joke in the skit went on far too long. Some of the transitions and effects were cool, but the use of the kaleidoscope-type shots went on too long. The plot was boring, and I couldn't wait for it to end. At 20-odd minutes long, it was still too long. 4.8/10. State Fair

Another fun movie from the 1934 nominees. I enjoyed this one a lot. The plot was a lot of fun, and I was certainly hoping Margy and Pat would end up together. I love the domesticity between the parents, and I especially loved the kitchen scenes due to my love of all things domestic history. There were many humorous moments, and it was a great feel-good film. The acting was really good, and all the main characters did a stellar job. I was a bit thrown by Janet Gaynor's voice at first, as this is the first talkie of hers I've seen, but I got used to it pretty quickly. Lew Ayres was fantastic! I also really enjoyed the acting of Will Rogers and Louise Dresser. I loved the shots of the farm and the kitchen. I want that front porch! 7.4/10 The Merry Old Soul

This was a lot of fun, and I even laughed out loud at one point. I especially loved the movie stars and comedians in this piece; thanks to this journey, I knew most of them. I was especially happy to see the Marx Bros. The cartoon has the moral that movies will cheer you up, and I agree with that sentiment. I love the pie fight and the tooth with the crown. Some clever humour. 6.8/10 The Private Life of Henry VIII

This is such a different film from others I've seen so far. We all know the history, and I'm not convinced this was super accurate, but it was a lot of fun and brought history to life. I didn't want Charles Laughton to be great. I wanted Paul Muni to be my favourite - but I must admit, Charles was engaging in this role. His wife, Elsa Lancaster, was also a favourite, and I loved the scenes where she was pulling faces to make herself seem less attractive. The costumes were great, and the sets were well done. There was nothing too striking in the way it was filmed except some good use of shadows and silhouettes.

6.4/10.

The Prizefighter and The Lady

I was probably a bit harsh on this movie because I hate boxing. I couldn't get into the plot nor the characters and was pretty bored after the first 20 minutes. The fight at the end seemed to last forever. I was impressed by Max Bauer. It seems to be his first role, and I think he was fantastic. I didn't understand why the movie needed the musical numbers. It just seemed odd. Overall, I was unimpressed with the movie.

6/10.

The Sign of the Cross

I found this plot to be a little bit too ridiculous at times. Mainly, I couldn't believe the infatuation Marcus had with Mercia. I felt the movie was a bit too long to keep my interest, and I got bored quite a few times. I think I would have preferred the plot if it was more about Mercia's story than Marcus'. The acting was poor. Now, these actors are fantastic, and if one actor wasn't great, I would blame their acting skills, but to have all the actors seem under par, I blame the director. The score was ok, but it made me cringe that there was organ music in the final scene, as I'm pretty sure they weren't invented yet. And I don't cope well with terribly acted screaming and yelling. It felt like it was a silent movie that they allowed to be recorded. Everything just seemed over-emphasised and big. I think a different director could have done this movie more successfully.

5.6/10

The Three Little Pigs

I didn't enjoy this cartoon as much as Merry Old Soul. I liked that it was in colour. I would have liked the songs more with a less high pitch. I think it is fantastic for really young viewers. A classic. My favourite bit was the photos of their mum and dad - their mum was shown with the whole litter, and their dad was shown as a string of sausages. It was good; just not my favourite. 6.2/10

When Ladies Meet

This movie was a bit odd but overall, I liked it. It was a bit slow to get going. I didn't like Myrna in this film (usually I love her) but the acting wasn't quite to her usual standard. This is early on in her career so that might be why. Ann Harding was brilliant and I really liked Frank Morgan's performance. I liked the message of the film and I thought the ending was pretty good. Nice sets but I'm not sure why it was nominated for Art Direction. Not bad.

7.09/10.

 

Awards - Below is the list of nominees with the winner at the top and my choice underlined. Outstanding Production

Cavalcade – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Co.

42nd Street – Darryl F. Zanuck for Warner Bros.

A Farewell to Arms – Adolph Zukor for Paramount Publix

I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang – Hal B. Wallis for Warner Bros.

Lady for a Day – Frank Capra for Columbia

Little Women – Merian C. Cooper and Kenneth Macgowan for RKO Pictures

The Private Life of Henry VIII – Alexander Korda for London Films

She Done Him Wrong – William LeBaron for Paramount Publix

Smilin' Through – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

State Fair – Winfield Sheehan for Fox Film Co.


My favourite movie for the year wasn't nominated for Best Picture. My favourite movie was Gold Diggers of 1933 (7.8/10). Great acting, great dance sequences, great singing, good chemistry, and some great cinematography. I smiled the whole way through and was thoroughly entertained.


My top three movies for the year were 1) Gold Diggers of 1933, 2) Little Women, and 3) One Way Passage.


Worst Picture


The movie that won Best Picture at the Oscars won the award for the Worst Picture in my mind for 1934. Cavalcade. Boring and ridiculous with terrible acting. I couldn't wait for it to be over! I rated this one a measly 4.6/10.


Best Director


Frank Lloyd – Cavalcade

Frank Capra – Lady for a Day

George Cukor – Little Women


I am so impressed that George Cukor gave every actress room to shine and to highlight Kate's amazing performance. Such an enjoyable watch.


Best Actor

Charles Laughton – The Private Life of Henry VIII as Henry VIII

Leslie Howard – Berkeley Square as Peter Standish

Paul Muni – I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang as James Allen


Big snaps for Paul Muni as he did an incredible job, but there was something about Charles' performance that was so nuanced and engaging.


Best Actress

Katharine Hepburn – Morning Glory as Eva Lovelace

May Robson – Lady for a Day as Apple Annie

Diana Wynyard – Cavalcade as Jane Marryot


May Robson was fantastic and would win out of the nominees but I think Katherine Hepburn's performance as Jo March in Little Women was one of the best acting performances I've seen so far so I'll give her the award albeit for a different film. She was engaging and I couldn't take my eyes off her.


Best Original Story

One Way Passage – Robert Lord

The Prizefighter and the Lady – Frances Marion

Rasputin and the Empress – Charles MacArthur


While melodramatic and over the top, I agree with the win for One Way Passage. The ending was superb.


Best Adaptation

Little Women – Victor Heerman and Sarah Y. Mason, based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott

Lady for a Day – Robert Riskin, based on the story "Madame la Gimp" by Damon Runyon

State Fair – Paul Green and Sonya Levien, based on the novel by Phil Strong


Tough one as these were all fantastic plots and well done, but I agree that Little Women was the best book to movie adaptation.


Best Art Direction

Cavalcade – William S. Darling

A Farewell to Arms – Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson

When Ladies Meet – Cedric Gibbons


For me, it was Gold Diggers of 1933. Such beautiful artisan film-making.


Best Cinematography

A Farewell to Arms – Charles Lang

Reunion in Vienna – George J. Folsey

Sign of the Cross – Karl Struss


Again, Gold Diggers for me!


Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy

So This Is Harris! –Louis Brock and RKO Pictures

Mister Mugg – Warren Doane and Universal Studios

A Preferred List – Louis Brock and RKO Pictures


I only got to see So This is Harris! and I absolutely hated it. As I said in the review for that movie, if you want a good short comedy, go watch Duck Soup in 20 minute snippets!


Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty

Krakatoa – Joe Rock and Educational Pictures

Menu – Pete Smith and MGM

The Sea – Educational Pictures


I only got to see Menu which was quite fun but I won't disagree with the Academy because I know Krakatoa would have been much more interesting.


Best Short Subject, Cartoon

The Three Little Pigs – Walt Disney and United Artists

Building a Building – Walt Disney and United Artists

The Merry Old Soul – Walter Lantz and Universal Studios


My favourite cartoon for this year as The Merry Old Soul because it was clever! I loved the movie "cameos" and it was quite funny.


Best Sound Recording

A Farewell to Arms – Franklin Hansen

42nd Street – Nathan Levinson

Gold Diggers of 1933 – Nathan Levinson

I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang – Nathan Levinson


No surprises here - Gold Digger again!


bottom of page