top of page

1935 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

See below for an alphabetical list of movies with my brief thoughts.

Click here to see the awards and who I think should have won!


City of Wax

Cute little documentary. I didn't really learn anything in particular because my husband and I keep bees and have been on the workshops and studied our own hives. But if I put myself in the shoes of city people back then, this would be quite an unknown world. It was a great job of camerawork to focus on such small critters. Does it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yeah, I'm all for educational documentaries!

6/10.


Cleopatra

I had high hopes for this movie because it was nominated for so many awards, but I must admit to being a bit disappointed. It's a typical DeMille film. So beautiful to watch but terrible too. The cinematography, costumes, and art design were absolutely stunning and breathtaking, and I rate that so highly. However, the DeMille seems to make his actors over the top and inauthentic, and the dialogue was clunky. If the acting was as good as the sets, it would be a masterpiece. I recommend watching this with the sound off and make up your own story while you admire the filmmaking. I'm being a bit harsh as this movie still rates highly on my list.

7.3/10.


Eskimo

I enjoyed this movie, and it's stuck with me a little bit. The plot was engaging and different. Maybe a tad too long, but it kept me interested the whole way through. I don't know how accurate it was historically, but it opened my eyes to things I didn't know about Inuit culture. It had some good things to say about white oppression and was done sympathetically. The acting was pretty good. Mala was excellent. Great job to film in challenging locations. This movie is a million times better than Trader Horn. Does it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yep. This was a good movie.

7.2/10.


Flirtation Walk

Snore! I usually like Dick Powell movies, but this one just didn't hold my interest. I couldn't find anything to grab me. Even Dick's songs were flat, although some of the dance routines were quite nice. Wasn't a fan of Ruby Keeler here either. I'd give it a miss. How this was nominated for Best Picture, I'll never know.

5.55/10


Flying Down to Rio

Oh no, two snore movies in a row! (I watched this after Flirtation Walk). I wanted to like this but again, I was so bored. I love Fred and Ginger, but they weren't in the film enough (being their first real movie together). I think Dolores del Rio is really pretty. I didn't like Gene Raymond as a leading man. The songs weren't fantastic and the dance craze of the Capioca seems weird. Don't count this as a Astaire/Rogers film.

5.77/10.


Here comes the Navy

This movie was quite fun. There were some genuine laugh-out-loud moments. It doesn't have a lot to say, but it's cute. I love Jimmy Cagney (which I didn't before starting this journey), and he was fantastic in his role. Pat O'Brien was pretty good too. The sound was a bit below par, and I didn't have captions, so I missed bits, unfortunately. There was nothing super special about the cinematography and design, but I loved the cannon cleaning scene. Does it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? While I enjoyed the movie, I don't think it was special enough to be in the running. 6.7/10 Hide-Out

I loved this movie. I really enjoy country, farming, simple life type movies and this was wonderful. The setting was beautiful. The characters were loveable and the acting was fantastic. I wasn't really fans of Montgomery or O'Sullivan, but this movie made me love them both. The chemistry between them was great too. Oh, and little Mickey Rooney was fantastic too! I loved the house and the chickens and ducks and preserves and chores and everything! The score was pretty good too. This movie rates highly for me just because it's my type of film! I'd happily watch it over and over again.

7.78/10.


Holiday Land

I was expecting some kind of moral from this cartoon, such as that you can't life doesn't work if it's a holiday every day, or it becomes unspecial, but it wasn't like that - it was just a dream. There were some ok elements but overall, I wasn't really impressed.

5.4/10

Imitation of Life

Wow, wow, wow! I loved this movie! I always like it when movies have something to say, and this fits the bill well. The story was fantastic, heart-wrenching, painful, joyful, and clever. The acting was fantastic, and I am really surprised there were no nominations from this movie. I loved the characters of Bea and Delilah. I loved Bea's cleverness and tenacity, and my heart broke when Delilah's broke. Yes, it has some cultural issues seen through modern eyes, but I think it was quite progressive for the time. The sound was good, and there were some nice cinematography elements - my favourite was when Bea walked up the stairs, and Delilah walked down. Beautiful. The costumes were terrific. This has to be one of my favourite movies overall so far! I think that the director and the actresses should have had nominations.

8.1/10


It Happened One Night

This was a fun movie! I had seen this movie before but so long ago that I had forgotten everything except the hitchhiking scene. The plot was interesting - fanciful but engaging. I loved the dialogue between the characters. It didn't end quite as I expected, and it had many laughs along the way. I think a bit more romantic overtones would have helped but because the character was married, I get they couldn't do that - but hey, even just a kiss would have helped the chemistry. Gable and Colbert were amazing. I wish there was a bit more chemistry, but overall, the acting was top-notch. Gable is such a good-looking man! I was slightly disappointed that there weren't better elements of sound, cinematography, and design for a movie that won Best Picture, but it was a fantastic movie. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? I think all the nominations are correct. As for winning, I'm not so sure. I haven't watched all the nominations yet, so I can't say for sure. I agree with the acting gongs, but so far, Imitation of Life is a better movie. However, I'm sure it would have been a more controversial choice, and this might have been the safer choice. 7.6/10 Jolly Little Elves

I loved this cartoon. I know it is a fairytale I've heard of before, but I don't know what the original is called. This is really sweet and how the shoes were made was very clever. I just watched It Happened One Night, where the characters were dipping doughnuts into coffee, and now I see it here as a major plot theme. I didn't even know it was a thing. I wonder which came first. The songs were lively, the cartoon was in colour, and I had a great time watching it.

7.1/10


La Cucaracha

This started pretty poorly, but I enjoyed it by the end. The plot was nothing special, but the Tabasco scene was comedy gold. So well acted! Steffi Duna has a lovely voice (assuming she wasn't dubbed). I struggled with the accents a little and some of the acting was so-so. The colour and lighting were really good for the time. This was well worth the watch! While I wouldn't say the whole thing was a comedy, it was entertaining, and the comedic scenes were some of the funniest I've seen.

6.9/10.


Manhattan Melodrama

This was really good. Mickey Rooney was very good. I love all the stars, but I was surprised to find that I preferred Gable's acting over Powell's. A lovely story with great tension and ethics. Some great cinematography too. One of the best of the year.

7.78/10


Men in Black

In advance, let me tell you that I'm not a Three Stooges fan. I much prefer the Marx Bros. I like "clever" humour. The only slapstick I enjoy is from Chaplin. I guess I'm a comedy snob. I was pleasantly surprised to enjoy some parts of this short film where there was what I call clever humour. I liked the surgical instrument stuff, the three phones, the door breaking etc. But it was overshadowed by the slapstick and silly noises.

4.8/10.

Of Human Bondage

I'm not sure I enjoyed this movie, but it sure made me think. I was so interested in where this movie was going to go. I found Mildred so toxic! And I was intrigued at how Philip could keep feeling any respect for her. It was a fascinating character study. I felt like some things were too censored and therefore didn't make sense, but overall, a really interesting movie. I wasn't too impressed with Leslie Howard; I found him a bit stiff, and I couldn't get past Bette's terrible accent. Bette did a fabulous acting job, but I wish they'd left it as her being an American because it would have helped with an exotic allure. There was no chemistry to understand the attraction, and I was disappointed that there wasn't a bit more in the performances. The score was excellent, with lovely cinematic elements and fantastic costume and jewellery choices. Bette did an amazing job. I think it should have been nominated for its score and cinematography.

7.6/10.


One Night of Love

This was a nice movie, nothing spectacular. I enjoyed the feel of the artistic community in Italy (feel free to send me tickets now), and I appreciate the clever way of avoiding rent. What I didn't like about the plot is the assumption that a woman cannot succeed with her natural talent unless a man is there to help her. The acting wasn't great, and there was no chemistry between Mary and Monteverdi. Some of the supporting actors were better than the leads. The score was very good. I'm not an opera fan, but I appreciate talent. The last song was my favourite and gave me goosebumps at the end. That was definitely the highlight for me. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, for sound and score. No to the rest. This movie is worth watching for the opera but not for much else. 6.6/10.


Operator 13

Hmm, doesn't hold up today. I agree that the cinematography is really good. I also liked the score and soundtrack. But the rest! Uh. One of the worst for the year. The less I say, the better.

5.3/10

She Loves Me Not

First, a big disclaimer. I LOVE BING! I have been a Bing fan for decades and would melt hearing him sing the phone book, so that will skew this review significantly. The plot was pretty silly but fun, except I didn't feel it finished off well. There were a lot of laughs in this movie, and it was quite enjoyable. I like Miriam Hopkins's acting, but I don't feel this role played to her strengths. I wasn't a fan of her singing or dancing or comedy acting. However, Bing was fantastic at comedy, and his voice is just perfection! The music was lovely, and it is the first film I've seen on this journey with some harmony. Gorgeous. There were some cool ideas in this movie using the news headlines. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes. The song was beautiful.

6.8/10


Strikes and Spares

This started off as quite boring, but it ended up being okay. I liked how it explained how to bowl. Wish I knew some of that when I was bowling with my kids! The trick shots were pretty speccy. I didn't appreciate that the women needed to be in their underwear. Overall, enjoyable after the first few minutes.

5.4/10.


The Affairs of Cellini

Urgh. This movie was a bit of a drag. The plot wasn't actually that bad, but it just dragged on so much! I liked the scenes where the Duke and Duchess were creeping around trying to find their lovers, and the ending was good - but the rest was a bit boring. The acting was ok but nothing special. I agree that Frank Morgan was the pick of the actors, but I wasn't overly wowed. Fredric reminded me of Douglas Fairbanks with all the stunts. The costumes were pretty good, but I couldn't work out who was who for a while. The entrance of the Duchess at the very beginning of the movie was quite spectacular. The dialogue seemed clunky and a bit ridiculous. 6.5/10


The Barretts of Wimpole Street

This movie would have scored a lot lower if it wasn't for one thing... Charles Laughton. I like Fredric March and Norma Shearer, but I felt they both overacted in this movie. The plot was a bit nothingy when it comes to the romance but wow! Charles Laughton stole the show. Brilliant acting! Completely believable and so very, very creepy. He conveyed the incestuous relationship without having to say much. He was absolutely brilliant. The rest of the movie? Meh.

7.18/10.

The Gay Divorcee

I loved this movie. I am already a HUGE Fred Astaire fan, but I hadn't seen this movie before. The plot was a bit goofy because I felt like Guy was a creepy stalker initially, which unnerved me a bit, but there was so much humour in it that you forgot about that for the rest of the movie. I particularly liked the scenes where Pinky found his wallet, Guy finds Mimi in a car bingle, and Guy's little song and dance when the husband was coming made me laugh. The dialogue was also excellent, and there were some great lines, like when in love, girls pine and men suffer. I thought that was cool. All the actors did a good job, but I especially loved Edward Everett Horton in this film. I think Fred's dancing on his own was quite good, but it felt a little chaotic ( I like the elegance of his solo dancing in the Band Wagon much more). But when he pairs up with Ginger! WOW! When they dance together, it's magic. Betty Grable did a fantastic job too. The collars of the outfits were spectacular. I wasn't impressed with the sound recording. The outdoor scenes were echoey, and I presume they were filmed in a big shed because that's what it sounded like. My biggest disappointment with this film was the Continental number. It was a bit boring and went far too long. The routines weren't as good as a Buzby number, and it felt like they just chucked all their ideas at the performance without thinking them through. It took away from the romantic feeling we'd just had with Guy and Mimi dancing.

7.3/10


The House of Rothschild - I didn't expect to like this movie, but I thought it was great. The plot was very engrossing, and I found the cleverness of the Rothschilds to know when to buy and sell interesting. Considering what was going on in Germany at the time of making this film, highlighting anti-semitism and racial prejudice was an important topic. Some of the lines were fantastic and very moving. I'm not a fan of George Arliss' acting style, especially at the start of the movie. I feel he physically overemotes. I enjoyed the performance of C. Aubrey Smith. Did Stephen Fry base his Wellington character on him? Very similar. Loretta Young grew on me as the movie progressed. The split screen to shows the other brothers was clever. I think the credits were the first rolling credits I've seen on this journey.

7.1/10.


The Lost Patrol

This movie was interesting but not great. I thought the plot was a little too melodramatic. The ending and acting was alright but I wasn't happy with Boris Karloff's performance. If he had played his part as more straight during most of the movie and slowly made him turn crazy, that would have been a lot more impactful than having him as a crazy zealot for the whole shebang. What this movie did well was the score. It is the first movie where I feel the music was intentionally impactful. Usually there is no score when there is talking, and this innovation hit the spot, so most of the rating is based on that.

7/10.


The Merry Widow

Bleh. My favourite fact about this movie is that it is the last Chevalier/Macdonald/Lubitsch team film. Man, I can't stand Chevalier movies (well, some of the early ones were good but it got so repetitive!). This movie gets some points for some beautiful costumes and cinematography on the dance routines, but the rest is so bleh!

6/10


The Richest Girl in the World

This movie could have been wonderful but I felt the plot made too many weird choices. I thought Miriam and Joel were good and I thought it was interesting that we couldn't really tell who Joel was into, but Miriam's character made choices that didn't seem to fit with her character arc. The ending was too rushed and felt very unsatisfying.

6.77/10.


The Thin Man

I enjoyed the chemistry between Myrna and William, but I must admit, I got a bit lost with the motive of the murders in this film. I had to look it up afterwards! Everyone did a great job, but I didn't like the performance of Minna Gombell, which is a shame as I loved her in Bad Girl - but thinking about it, because she was lying the whole way through, maybe her performance was meant to be unrealistic...Hmmm. What I loved about this movie was the cinematic elements - the use of shadow and the cool graphic of the net going over the States. The costumes were also so beautiful - that nightgown was to die for! I wish I had more to say about this movie when it currently sits second on my list of favourites for the year. It was just delightful and fun, yet intriguing and dark. A good all-rounder!

7.9/10.


The Tortoise and the Hare

I love this fable, but I don't feel the cartoon did it justice. The jokes were repeated over and over, so they weren't funny after the first time. It ended just after the race, and I would have liked to have seen the moral come through more. Just missed the mark for me.

5.5/10


Viva Villa!

Yikes! This wasn't a plot I was familiar with, so I got a bit lost at times - and I got a lot bored. I was worried that Wallace would be terrible, but I didn't think he was too bad. What was bad was that I am sure there would have been very many capable Latino actors that could have done as well or better. The lack of Mexican representation in this movie was appalling. I know it was done at that time in Hollywood history, but it is still no excuse. The sound was terrible. The action was so loud compared to the dialogue. And it felt like this movie went for a million life-sucking years. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? No! How did it get so many nominations? Crazy.

5/10 (and that's generous)


What, No Men?

The plot was so ridiculous, with no redeeming features. It was sexist and racist and no fun. The only reason this got a score over five was the lovely singing and a fairly decent dancing routine. Nothing of note here, unfortunately. 5.2/10


 

Below is the list of nominees with the winner at the top and my choice underlined.


Outstanding Production

It Happened One Night – Frank Capra and Harry Cohn for Columbia

The Barretts of Wimpole Street – Irving Thalberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Cleopatra – Cecil B. DeMille for Paramount

Flirtation Walk – Jack L. Warner, Hal B. Wallis, and Robert Lord for First National

The Gay Divorcee – Pandro S. Berman for RKO Pictures

Here Comes the Navy – Lou Edelman for Warner Bros.

The House of Rothschild – Darryl F. Zanuck, William Goetz, and Raymond Griffith for 20th Century

Imitation of Life – John M. Stahl for Universal

One Night of Love – Harry Cohn and Everett Riskin for Columbia

The Thin Man – Hunt Stromberg for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Viva Villa! – David O. Selznick for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

The White Parade – Jesse L. Lasky for Fox Film Co.


My best movie for the year was Imitation of Life (8.1/10). It highlighted racial and gender barriers (brave for the time), and the acting and cinematography were magnificent. It's a movie that will stay with me for a long time. I cried loads! 2nd vote for the Thin Man (7.9/10) and joint 3rd for Manhattan Melodrama and Hide-Out (7.78)


Worst Picture

My least favourite movie of the year was Viva Villa! (5/10). No redeeming qualities from this movie. A general ick vibe.


Best Director

Frank Capra – It Happened One Night

Victor Schertzinger – One Night of Love

W. S. Van Dyke – The Thin Man


I agree with the Academy here. It's a classic film and very well made.


Best Actor

Clark Gable – It Happened One Night as Peter Warne

Frank Morgan – The Affairs of Cellini as Alessandro, Duke of Florence

William Powell – The Thin Man as Nick Charles


Huge shout out to William Powell, whose nomination was entirely valid, and Clark Gable was so memorable in It Happened One Night, but for me, the winner is Charles Laughton. His character in The Barratts of Wimple Street was so striking and scary and so well performed. With that win, he becomes my first best actor winner of more than one Oscar.


Best Actress

Claudette Colbert – It Happened One Night as Ellen "Ellie" Andrews

Bette Davis – Of Human Bondage as Mildred Rogers

Grace Moore – One Night of Love as Mary Barrett

Norma Shearer – The Barretts of Wimpole Street as Elizabeth Barrett


My winner wasn't nominated. I give the award to Louise Beavers for Imitation of Life.


Best Original Story

Manhattan Melodrama – Arthur Caesar

Hide-Out – Mauri Grashin

The Richest Girl in the World – Norman Krasna


The Hide-Out story is my kind of story! I love the simple life and feel it solves so many problems. This one resonated the most with me. But I also loved Manhattan Melodrama - only bit I didn't like was how easily Myna Loy's character changed her mind so abruptly. The Richest Girl felt too clunky.


Best Adaptation

It Happened One Night – Robert Riskin, based on the story "Night Bus" by Samuel Hopkins Adams

The Thin Man – Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett, based on the novel by Dashiell Hammett

Viva Villa! – Ben Hecht, based on the novel by Edgecumb Pinchon and O. B. Stade


From what I've read, It Happened One Night stayed more true to the original book.


Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy

La Cucaracha – Kenneth Macgowan and Pioneer Pictures

Men in Black – Jules White

What, No Men! – Warner Bros.


La Cucaracha wasn't bad and deserved the win. The other two were painful!


Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty

City of Wax – Horace Woodard and Stacy Woodard

Bosom Friends – Skibo Productions

Strikes and Spares – Pete Smith


I didn't get to see Bosom Friends, but I rated City of Wax higher than Strikes and Spares. I like educational topics, and this was well put together.


Best Short Subject, Cartoon

The Tortoise and the Hare – Walt Disney

Holiday Land – Screen Gems

Jolly Little Elves – Walter Lantz


My favourite cartoon was Jolly Little Elves. It was fun, had a lovely plot and moral, and was super cute. The Tortoise and the Hare was too repetitive and didn't convey the moral of the story very well.


Best Scoring

One Night of Love – Columbia Studio Music Department

The Gay Divorcee – RKO Radio Studio Music Department

The Lost Patrol – RKO Radio Studio Music Department


The Lost Patrol was one of the first movies I've seen on this journey to use the soundtrack to highlight the film emotions and use it over dialogue. Great job.


Best Song

"The Continental" from The Gay Divorcee – Music by Con Conrad; Lyrics by Herb Magidson

"Carioca" from Flying Down to Rio – Music by Vincent Youmans; Lyrics by Edward Eliscu and Gus Kahn

"Love in Bloom" from She Loves Me Not – Music by Ralph Rainger; Lyrics by Leo Robin


The Continental and Carioca were so boring! My favourite was Love in Bloom due to Bing's silky voice and the wonderful harmony alongside it. A beautiful moment in the film, too.


Best Sound Recording

One Night of Love – John P. Livadary

The Affairs of Cellini – Thomas T. Moulton

Cleopatra – Franklin Hansen

Flirtation Walk – Nathan Levinson

The Gay Divorcee – Carl Dreher

Imitation of Life – Theodore Soderberg

Viva Villa! – Douglas Shearer

The White Parade – Edmund H. Hansen


I agree with the Academy. It was really crisp and wonderfully proportioned sound. I completely disagree with The Gay Divorcee (echoey) and Viva Villa! and Cleopatra (Proportion all wrong).


Best Art Direction

The Merry Widow – Cedric Gibbons and Fredric Hope

The Affairs of Cellini – Richard Day

The Gay Divorcee – Van Nest Polglase and Carroll Clark


While The Gay Divorcee and The Merry Widow had fantastic dance routines and costumes, I think Cleopatra should have won this award. Such beauty in every aspect!


Best Cinematography

Cleopatra – Victor Milner

The Affairs of Cellini – Charles Rosher

Operator 13 – George J. Folsey


Absolutely! Some of the best cinematography I've seen on the journey so far.


Best Film Editing

Eskimo – Conrad A. Nervig

Cleopatra – Anne Bauchens

One Night of Love – Gene Milford


This was a fantastic and underrated movie.


Best Assistant Director

Viva Villa! – John S. Waters

Cleopatra – Cullen Tate

Imitation of Life – Scott Beal


Great job to have everyone shine in Imitation of Life.




bottom of page