top of page

1936 Oscars

Updated: Jan 30

Here is an alphabetical list of the movies I was able to watch with a brief review.

Click here to see the awards and who I would have given the awards to.

1,000 Dollars a Minute

This movie was a lot of fun! I really enjoyed the plot, and it was very comedic. I worked out that now it would be the equivalent of trying to spend about 23 million Australian dollars. I think I would almost struggle with that myself! It was interesting that the things Wally went to buy were the same things I would have looked for. It was a very clever plot. The actors were all really good. I hadn't heard of any of them before, but they were great, especially the two leads. There were some good panning and zooming techniques to make things interesting, but the shaky camera and dodgy editing brought the score down a little bit. 7.42/10.


A Midsummer Night's Dream

I am going to show what a cultural philistine I am with this review. I am not a fan of Shakespeare - the only movie I've enjoyed is Kenneth Branaugh's Much Ado About Nothing. Maybe I needed subtitles or to have pre-read the play because I couldn't understand what was going on and got very bored (I fell asleep at one point). There were moments of brilliant acting, with my favourites being James Cagney and Mickey Rooney - but there was a lot of theatre acting which doesn't translate as well to the big screen. Some performances were downright terrible. The score was great but the sound was dodgy. There were too many screechy sounds that distorted and it was uncomfortable to watch. The cinematography and effects were brilliant. I especially liked the fog/cloud turning into fairies and the glitter effect. Overall, I think this must have been an amazing and accessible way of seeing theatre for the masses, but it didn't float my boat.

6/10.


Alice Adams

I love Katharine Hepburn and I wanted to love this movie...but it was only OK for me. It just took way too long to get going. Overall, I think the movie was 20 minutes too long. I was impressed by almost all the actors (I was a bit disappointed by Fred Stone who played the father, Virgil). Katharine was great (and great at being annoying when she was pretending to be rich), but my favourite here was Hattie McDaniel. She was hilarious and almost stole the show for me! It had a lot of good points about parent/children struggle and expectations - issues that still arise today. Overall, it felt quite modern. I would have preferred the original ending where the two stars end up not being together and Alice gets a job.

7.18/10.


All the King's Horses

I didn't like this one at the start, but it grew on me. The plot was silly but sometimes that's the fun of it. What didn't work for me was how the love interests intertwined with the deception. It didn't work and I don't quite know what the point was they were trying to get across. The acting was ok but nothing special. The dance sequence it got nominated for was the highlight of the movie. If I was you, skip the movie and just watch the dance.

6.23/10.


Audioscopiks

Look, I get it. I remember my first time watching a 3D "film" - no plot and just an array of scenes where things were thrown and waved at me. It was in a tent at our capital city's Show and I was amazed and terrified. I'm thinking it was the 1980's. I ducked and weaved and held onto my friends. So I understand the novelty. It is quite interesting that the technology hasn't really gone past novelty but I think VR is where this will become more commonplace. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Well, maybe. If this was the first of it's kind, then yes. But it's not very interesting to modern audiences. 5.2/10 Barbary Coast

I liked this movie. The plot was engaging the whole way, except I was a bit unsettled with the ending - it seemed a bit soft in comparison. The acting was good too. Apparently, Miriam was a bit of a pain on set, but I can see why she got this role. I prefer her in dramas, and while she is sometimes a bit too dramatic, she is still a great actress. But the star of the film for me was Edward G. Robinson. Gee, he made a great baddy! The score was good, but the music was often too loud over the dialogue. The cinematography was excellent, with lots of moody scenes and fog. The costumes were good, and I like that Edward rocked that earring. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, but I'm surprised neither Edward nor Miriam were nominated for acting.

7.75/10.

Becky Sharp

I enjoyed the plot of this movie. I hated the main character, but that's ok. She's a stereotype of a woman hell-bent on getting everything her own way. The problem I have with this movie is the terrible acting throughout. The sound wasn't good either and far too shrieky. The colour was great, and I certainly see the attraction from that, but I wish the makeup wasn't so garish (if it was the film making it garish, maybe they could have used some green to counter the red). The costumes were great, though. I think I would like this movie redone. Miriam was far better in the Barbary Coast.

6.25/10.


Black Fury

I reckon Paul Muni was typecast for these political movies but here, I wasn't a fan of the casting. I think a slightly younger actor and actress would have helped the story. The acting was ok but it just didn't quite click. Same for the plot - it was ok but it just seemed too fanciful at times. There were great moments and I felt really sorry for Joe. But overall, it didn't feel authentic.

6.8/10.


Broadway Hostess

Urgh. The plot was boring and vanilla. I'm not sure if the theme was marry the first person who asks you if you're in love with someone you can't have but that's what I got out of it. I didn't really like Win Shaw's voice but I like it more than the opera singers. The editing was really clunky. Therre was a moment of surprise when I saw the Oscar-nominated dance but it felt so out of place for two reasons: 1) this is meant to be a performance on stage and no-one would see it, and 2) it was too good compared to the rest of the film. The acting was soooo wooden. I didn't think I'd find a movie worse than "She" for the year. I was wrong. Here it is!

4.91/10.


Broadway Melody of 1936

Now this is a musical! I really loved this. The plot wasn't sensational, but it was entertaining. I think it's often very true that people from your hometown doubt your ability. The acting was pretty good, but the singing and dancing was wonderful. Seriously, these are some of the best dance routines I've ever seen. The dialogue was really funny in parts. It was a beautiful film to watch too, with fantastic costumes and contrasts. Oh, some of those suit pants were divine! I could go on and on about this movie. I had seen snippets of this movie in documentaries about Hollywood musicals and now I see why. This is such a feel-good movie and one that I could watch over and over. One of my best for this year.

7.8/10


Captain Blood

This was quite a good movie and fit the year's genre of big historical epics. The plot was exciting, but it was sometimes a bit slow. I enjoyed the first half more than the second. The acting was pretty good, especially when you realise that Errol and Olivia were relatively new. I must admit, though, that my favourite was Guy Kibbee, and I prefer Errol with a moustache. The score was terrific, and I really enjoyed it. The cinematography was hit-and-miss. I loved the use of shadow, but I think they overplayed it during the movie's first half. But I have to give extra points for the fantastic effects during the battle scenes. The costumes were good, but the wigs were terrible. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, it fit the type of movies nominated for the year, and the score was noticeably good.

7.25/10


Dangerous

I didn't think I'd like this movie. It started in a way that I felt that it would be boring and predictable, but by the end, I found I really enjoyed it. The plot was fairly predictable but it kept me pretty engrossed. The theme of redemption was quite stirring. Sometimes we make our own luck. Bette Davis' acting was great. Sometimes I think her acting went slightly into too hammy, but compared to most of the other actresses of the day, she's pretty phenomenal. I like how she took parts that showed the gritty side. In comparison, I wasn't really taken with Franchot. But overall, while terrible melodramatic, it kept me entertained.

7.32/10.


David Copperfield

I wanted to like this more than I actually did. It's rated so highly by everyone, but, for me, it has such wonderful highs and such terrible lows. I thought the plot dragged, but the dialogue was wonderful. I hated the acting of Elizabeth Allen and a few minor players, and while I love Freddie Bartholemew, it wasn't fantastic acting from him either. However, Basil Rathbone and Edna May Oliver were wonderful. I didn't find anything wonderful about the score. But really bothered me is that it had a silent movie feel - the extreme close-ups of over-acting drama. Obviously, it was popular at the time because it was nominated for the Oscar, but it grated on me. A bit too much. The costume and design were pretty impressive, though.

6.75/10


Escape Me Never

This movie had an excellent 10 minutes - the rest was blah! The plot was good but delivered poorly in both acting performances and directorial choices. The actors seemed stilted, and there was no chemistry between any of them. Elisabeth was good near the end, but it was only a fleeting moment. The drama could have been intensified with a good score, but there was nothing there. There were some good and considered camera shots and angles, but nothing kept me engaged with the screen. Disappointing!

6/10.


Folies Bergère de Paris

I cringe when I see I'm about to watch a Chevalier movie. That said, there were some ok moments, but overall, it's pretty terrible. I have seen so many of these movies where the plot revolves around lookalikes. I wouldn't recommend this movie. I wish I had more to say but I don't.

5.89/10


'G Men'

This was a cool movie. The plot was interesting, and I didn't know how it was going to end. It was well-paced and entertaining the whole way through. The acting was very good from all, especially James Cagney. He was superb. I've seen Jimmy on both sides of the law now. He was believable in this role and the movie was enjoyable, but nothing out of the park (but on the better side of good).

7.2/10


Gold Diggers of 1935

This is a 'leave your brain at the door' movie, but it's fun. The plot is ridiculous and a bit predictable but charming. The acting is ok - my favourite was Alice Brady (she did a great job in her role). The songs were great but nothing super memorable; I just like hearing Dick Powell sing. The dance numbers were good but not as impactful as earlier Berkeley numbers. I enjoyed the tap dancing a lot, though. There were some interesting cinematography moments, like some extreme close-ups and the use of the singer's face to outline NY. Overall, this was nothing special but also not terrible.

6.92/10


How to Sleep

I didn't get any laughs out of this movie, I'm afraid. The premise is fine, but this left me feeling a bit bored. Nothing wrong with it but nothing special.

5.2/10


I Dream Too Much

This movie was serviceable. The plot was interesting but slightly misogynistic, as the main lead was so egotistical. It didn't really pack a punch. The acting was good by Henry Fonda but he seemed miscast. I wasn't a fan of Lily Pons acting. Her singing was great but I'm not a fan of the operatic style. I wondered if I'd recognise Lucille Ball but it was easy to tell it was her. The score was ok - the songs were good but not very memorable. I don't like operatic singing because I can't understand the words they're singing. The sound was good because there were a few wall of sound moments, and they didn't distort like some older movies do. There wasn't anything too special about the way it was filmed, and I'm not sure why there appeared to be some kind of modelling show in the last number.

7/10

King of Burlesque

I didn't mind this one. It had some funny moments. I like the theme of not forgetting the ordinary people - stay in your lane. Quite entertaining.

6.5/10.


Les Misérables

Finally, a film I really loved. I knew the plot, but it was a bit different from the 2012 version, so it had me guessing a bit. It's a great plot, and this movie portrayed the moral dilemmas well. Fredric March was incredible in this film. Charles Laughton was also good. The others weren't as good but still very serviceable. It had a good score and good sound. The design of the costumes and sets were excellent, and I had to look more than one at the 'captured' Val Jean to see if that really was still Fredric. It has some fantastic cinematography. That walk through the sewer was epic. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, for every category it got nominated in, but Fredric should have been nominated for Best Actor. 7.8/10

Love Me Forever

Not a fan of opera singers but Grace Moore was good in this one. What I didn't like was the main actor. It didn't seem believable enough. What I thought was done well was his breakdown and the ending surprised me. I'm probably being a bit harsh on this movie but it just didn't click for me.

6.2/10.

Mutiny on the Bounty

This was fantastic. I knew the plot through history addiction, and I think it was portrayed well, but I would have liked some written script at the end that told what happened to the major characters after the events of the movie. IMDB says they planned to make a sequel, so I guess that is why they didn't, but there was so much interesting stuff that happened afterwards that it's a shame. The acting was fantastic, with my favourite being Clark. It was all pretty top-notch. The sound was ok (a bit too much variation between loud and soft) but the score was excellent. One of the best use of scores I've seen so far. The costuming was great and there were some decent cinematographic shots. 7.5/10

Naughty Marietta

I dreaded this movie. I'm not a fan of operatic movies and I had seen a snippet of a Nelson-Jeanette movie in a documentary and didn't like them. BUT... I actually quite enjoyed this. The singing was really good and they sounded great together. I liked the chemistry between them. The plot was a bit silly but entertaining enough. The bravado of Warrington got on my nerves a bit, as did the stuttering of Frank Morgan's character, and I thought Elsa overplayed her character which while I realise was for comic effect, it would have been better played down a bit. But overall, quite good.

6.5/10.

Peter Ibbetson

This movie had great ideas but poor execution. The plot was an interesting concept but unfortunately, it was delivered in a hammy, unbelievable way. I felt both lead actors were a bit stilted, although Gary Cooper was very good at times. The score didn't impress me and the sound wasn't good either. The costumes were good but the special effects near the end were terrible. There was some great cinematography and I love the echo of the fence from the youths to the adults. That bit was really clever. If they ever make a biopic of Gary Cooper, I feel they should cast Orlando Bloom. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? No, but it would be a good movie for Gary Cooper fans or fans of romance. 6.7/10 Private Worlds

This movie talks about how bad antiquated modes of treatment for mental health of the past is and all I can think is about how bad the antiquated modes of treatment for mental health are in the movie. I'm not sure telling mentally unwell people just to buck up and be like everyone else is good advice. The plot could have been amazing. It could have been about advances in treatment, advances in women in male-dominated societies, pressures of treating mental health while maintaining your own - and we got a love story. Disappointing. The acting was good but there wasn't enough chemistry between any of the actors to make it believable. That said, it wasn't that bad. It had good moments and some great dialogue. 6.6/10. Roberta

I loved Fred and Ginger movies, but this one was a little weird. The plot felt a little bit all over the place. I felt like Fred and Ginger were the supporting acts rather than the stars of the movie and I wasn't super interested in the main event. The acting was OK. While Ginger's accent was pretty good, I don't know why it needed to be there. I didn't feel like Randolph Scott/John Kent was suave enough. What this movie did well are the song choices. I loved Lovely to Look at and I also loved Smoke Gets in Your Eyes and I never realised that song was this old. The dancing was good but when Fred and Ginger dance together, it is magical. My heart always skips a beat. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, it is still a recognisable song to this day. 7.2/10 Ruggles of Red Gap

I think this might be my favourite story of the year. It was lots of fun and very inspirational. I laughed out loud and was really rooting for Ruggles. The acting was superb by Laughton! The scene where they all get drunk was hilarious. This only got a lower score because there wasn't much in the way of sound, cinematography, and design. But oh, it was a great movie!!

7.42/10


She

What was that! This movie scores pretty low for me on the plot and acting, but it had some pretty interesting design choices. There were many special effects, some worked, and some didn't. This felt like a B-grade move; something commercial televisions would put on late at night. There were glimpses of good stuff but very rarely.

5.3/10.

Thanks a Million

This was a nice watch that had a lovely moral ending - but it could have been so much more. The plot could have had a lot to say but chose to play it safe. The acting was ok. Overall, it was a good movie but there was nothing that made it great. An interesting aspect of juxtaposing celebrities with politicians, which is a touchy experiment in today's age. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? No.

6.75/10.


The Big Broadcast of 1936

Urgh. It's a great idea for the movie houses to make a movie featuring favourite radio stars, but the plot was terrible, and it made no sense at all. Some absolutely terrible skits and performances. I watched it for Bing but the performers I most liked were the Nicholas brothers. The songs weren't great and there was nothing super special to see. Don't bother with this one. 5.5/10.


The Bride of Frankenstein

Well, I loved that movie! The plot was fascinating. I thought a few things were a bit redundant and jarring, but it was terrific at having my heartstrings pulled. The hermit's house was so wonderful, and I genuinely felt sad at the end. The acting was superb by most; my favourite was Ernest Thesiger as Doctor Pretorius. I wish Colin Clive and Elsa Lancaster were a bit better, though. The score was impressive. It's the first film where I felt the score enhanced the experience. The sound was good. The cinematography was absolutely amazing, and the sets were so clever. I know I shouldn't like this movie as much as I did. I feel a bit silly for liking it so much as it was only nominated for 1 Oscar and the IMDB score isn't very high. But for me, it was pure entertainment in every facet, and it is definitely up there for me for the movie of the year. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, but it deserved more. A Best Picture nomination, a nomination for the score, and (if there was one at the time) Best Supporting Actor for Thesiger. This movie is underrated.

8.4/10. The Calico Dragon

I wanted to like this more than I actually did. There wasn't much of a plot, but the fabric designs were cute. The songs were ok but not memorable. Nothing special about this one, I'm afraid.

5.2/10.

The Crusades

I preferred this movie over The Sign of the Cross from 2 years ago. I found the plot interesting, and the pace was pretty good for a De Mille film. I don't know how historically accurate it was (I'm presuming it wasn't) but it was done pretty well, I think. The acting was generally good. I hadn't heard of Henry Wilcoxon before, but I thought he was good and quite a looker. Surprisingly for me, I really enjoyed Loretta Young and thought she was the best actor in the film. And she's so pretty. It didn't have much of a score and the sound wasn't great. There were some great effects but overall, I was disappointed with the cinematography and costumes. 6.5/10

The Dark Angel

I like melodramatic films, so I thought this was lovely. I like Fredric March too and while I feel he could have put more into the role, he did ok. I wasn't a fan of Merle or Herbert thought. The plot kept me interested and I liked the close encounters. There were some beautiful shots, and I liked the way it looked. The editing was clunky at times, and I wish it had more of a score. But overall, it was nice.

7.11/10.

The Gay Deception

Predictable but cute. The story was rags to riches and helped by the Sandro character being quite likeable. Interesting take on the haves and have nots. I like to see bullies cut down to size. The acting was pretty good with no one really standing out. There wasn't anything groundbreaking in this film but it was a fun watch and I enjoyed it.

6.3/10


The Informer

I wanted to like this so much due to all the nominations. I loved the start of the film; it felt like a good silent movie. I was impressed with the cinematography and I loved the way they were communicating everything without dialogue. Refreshing. But... the whole movie didn't stay that good. My biggest gripe is the acting. It was so surface level from almost all the actors (which makes me wonder if it was the director's fault). The plot didn't seem coherent enough for me either. It wasn't terrible but also not brilliant. If the acting was better, I would have forgiven a few plot holes. And if the rest of the movie was as good as the first 20 minutes, it might have rivalled for Best Picture for me. But alas, it missed the mark for me.

7.25/10.


The Lives of a Bengal Lancer

This is almost the last movie for me to watch for the year and I think it's one of the best I've seen. I love the acting and the plot in this movie. It kept me interested the whole movie through and I was so invested in most of the characters. It was so well done. I loved Gary Cooper immensely. The snake scene scared the heck out of me, and the ending produced reluctant tears. I can't fault it much - maybe it was a bit racist, but it was of its time. I liked Tone in this movie which is interesting as I haven't liked him in any other movies I've watched of his so far. Only negative I can think of is that the editing was a little clunky and I think they sped the film up at some points. But this is my kinda movie.

8.41/10.

The Scoundrel

I didn't love this movie. It felt pretentious. I usually love character-driven stories and the twist shocked me a little, but it felt really wooden. I couldn't believe any love interest between the characters. I wish there were less time from before the accident and a lot more after.

5.9/10

Three Orphan Kittens

This was cute. It captured kitten behaviour quite accurately! The music was nice. The ending was sweet. Does it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, this was a fun cartoon!

6.2/10

Tit for Tat

I prefer this one to the Music Box from 1932. This one had more varied comedy situations. There was nothing in it to cause me to laugh out loud or even snigger, but some of it was interesting. The funniest part of it for me was when the guy walked into the shop with the sack truck.

6.3/10

Top Hat

I wanted to like this one more than I did. My problem was is it was that I can't stand plots that revolve around simple misunderstandings that go to ridiculous lengths. I did enjoy the turned collar twist but it just felt cringey overall. The acting was pretty good in this one though. The costumes were fabulous and the songs were great. A good watch but I prefer Roberta (just).

7/10.


Who Killed Cock Robin?

I really enjoyed this cartoon - I think it was the best cartoon since Flowers and Trees. I loved the reference to Mae West, and was Cock Robin meant to be Maurice Chevalier? Maybe. I thought the police car/cage was funny and the jail being Sing Sing was very humorous. This had some good little jokes. I liked the songs, and it was a cute ending. Worth watching.

7/10.


Wings Over Everest

This was a bit weird. They reenacted some aspects, and the acting was pretty poor, but then again, these people aren't actors. It wasn't as much of a documentary style, rather like a movie using some original footage - but the footage was cool. It's so hard to believe that pilots got that high into the sky in open cockpits. Scary! The making of the suits and the machines were very interesting. Did it deserve an Oscar Nom-Nom? Yes, it is pretty special footage.

6/10.


 


Below is the list of nominees with the winner at the top but my choice is underlined.

Outstanding Production

WINNER - Mutiny on the Bounty

Alice Adams

Broadway Melody of 1936

Captain Blood

David Copperfield

The Informer

The Lives of a Bengal Lancer

A Midsummer Night's Dream

Les Misérables

Naughty Marietta

Ruggles of Red Gap

Top Hat


This was tricky for me because I thought The Lives of a Bengal Lancer and The Bride of Frankenstein were almost at par. I loved the acting in Lancers, and I loved the cinematography in Bride. So hard to choose! But in the end, I think The Bride of Frankenstein wins for a moral and theme that resonates to this day. My 2nd favourite was The Lives of a Bengal Lancer (8.41/10), and then Les Misérables (7.83/10). It was interesting that so many historical epics were nominated, and I think it was the beginning of a trend that continues to this day.

Worst Picture My least favourite full-length movie of the year was Broadway Hostess (4.91/10). Yawn!

Best Director WINNER - John Ford – The Informer

Michael Curtiz – Captain Blood

Henry Hathaway – The Lives of a Bengal Lancer

Frank Lloyd – Mutiny on the Bounty I'll give this one to Frank Lloyd for Mutiny. I always admire directors that can make all stars in a multi-star film shine and extra points for filming locations and loads of extras. Big shout out for Whale for The Bridge of Frankenstein though. I disagree with John Ford's win here. I felt the acting is The Informer was wooden and surface level and due to the number of actors with this style, I can only put it down to the director.

Best Actor WINNER - Victor McLaglen – The Informer as "Gypo" Nolan

Clark Gable – Mutiny on the Bounty as Fletcher Christian

Charles Laughton – Mutiny on the Bounty as Captain Bligh

Paul Muni – Black Fury as Joe Radek

Franchot Tone – Mutiny on the Bounty as Byam My winner was Gary Cooper for The Lives of a Bengal Lancer. So genuine and understated. He showed strength and softness all at the same time. Gorgeous work. I wasn't a fan of Victor McLaglen. I don't know whether it was the director's fault or not, but I felt his acting was too wooden, surface level, and stereotypical. I didn't feel any depth or emotion. I loved Fredric March in Les Misérables and I loved Charles Laughton but in Ruggles of Red Gap.

Best Actress WINNER - Bette Davis – Dangerous as Joyce Heath

Elisabeth Bergner – Escape Me Never as Gemma Jones

Claudette Colbert – Private Worlds as Dr. Jane Everest

Katharine Hepburn – Alice Adams as Alice Adams

Miriam Hopkins – Becky Sharp as Becky Sharp

Merle Oberon – The Dark Angel as Kitty Vane

Aaargh. So hard to choose between Bette and Katharine. They both played actresses playing a part in both movies so well. In the end, I have to think about which one made me think of the character most, rather than the actress behind the mask. And I think Alice was more authentic. The speech between Alice and Mr Lamb almost made me cry so I'll go Katharine, but darn, Bette was so close.


Best Original Story WINNER - The Scoundrel – Ben Hecht and Charles MacArthur

Broadway Melody of 1936 – Moss Hart

G Men – Gregory Rogers (pseudonym of Darryl F. Zanuck)

The Gay Deception – Don Hartman and Stephen Morehouse Avery Good plot and nice to see Cagney on the right side of the law. Best Adaptation WINNER - The Informer – Dudley Nichols

Captain Blood – Casey Robinson

The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Achmed Abdullah, John L. Balderston, Waldemar Young, Grover Jones and William Slavens McNutt

Mutiny on the Bounty – Jules Furthman, Talbot Jennings and Carey Wilson My favourite plot for all the movies of this year.

Best Live Action Short Subject, Comedy WINNER - How to Sleep – Jack Chertok and MGM

Oh, My Nerves – Jules White and Columbia

Tit for Tat – Hal Roach and MGM Best of a bad bunch but oh how I disliked How to Sleep. Best Live Action Short Subject, Novelty WINNER - Wings Over Everest – Gaumont British and Skibo Productions

Audioscopiks – Pete Smith and MGM

Camera Thrills – Universal I completely agree with this win!! It was a fantastic short! Best Short Subject, Cartoon WINNER - Three Orphan Kittens – Walt Disney Productions and United Artists

The Calico Dragon – Harman-Ising and MGM

Who Killed Cock Robin? – Walt Disney Productions and United Artists

I prefer the humour of Who Killed Cock Robin. It was pretty clever. The Kittens were cute but Cock Robin was a better watch. Best Scoring WINNER - The Informer – RKO Radio Studio Music Department

Captain Blood – Warner Bros.-First National Studio Music Department (write-in, not official nomination)

Mutiny on the Bounty – MGM Studio Music Department

Peter Ibbetson – Paramount Studio Music Department I'll go with The Informer here basically down to the first 10 minutes where there was basically no dialogue but a great tone-setting score.


Best Song

"Lullaby of Broadway" from Gold Diggers of 1935 – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Al Dubin

"Cheek to Cheek" from Top Hat – Music and Lyrics by Irving Berlin

"Lovely to Look At" from Roberta – Music by Jerome Kern; Lyrics by Dorothy Fields and Jimmy McHugh


I have to go to Cheek to Cheek because of its enduring timelessness.

Best Sound Recording

WINNER - Naughty Marietta – Douglas Shearer

$1,000 a Minute – Republic Studio Sound Department

Bride of Frankenstein – Gilbert Kurland

Captain Blood – Nathan Levinson

The Dark Angel – Thomas T. Moulton

I Dream Too Much – Carl Dreher

The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Franklin Hansen

Love Me Forever – John P. Livadary

Thanks a Million – E. H. Hansen


Naughty Marietta had great sound throughout, such as the creaking of the ships, to the good use of the wall of sound where all the singers were mixed really well.


Best Art Direction

WINNER - The Dark Angel – Richard Day

The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson

Top Hat – Carroll Clark and Van Nest Polglase


The Dark Angel was shot beautifully so I agree with the Academy here.


Best Cinematography

WINNER - A Midsummer Night's Dream – Hal Mohr

Barbary Coast – Ray June

The Crusades – Victor Milner

Les Misérables – Gregg Toland


The Bride of Frankenstein should have 100% won this! Although I get why it was awarded to Dream.


Best Film Editing

WINNER - Midsummer Night's Dream – Ralph Dawson

David Copperfield – Robert J. Kern

The Informer – George Hively

The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Ellsworth Hoagland

Les Misérables – Barbara McLean

Mutiny on the Bounty – Margaret Booth


Best Dance Direction

WINNER - Broadway Melody of 1936 and Folies Bergère de Paris – Dave Gould

All the King's Horses and The Big Broadcast of 1936 – LeRoy Prinz

Broadway Hostess and Go into Your Dance – Bobby Connolly

Gold Diggers of 1935 – Busby Berkeley

King of Burlesque – Sammy Lee

She – Benjamin Zemach

Top Hat – Hermes Pan


Absolutely agree with the Academy here. The dance routines in Broadway Melody are some of the best I've ever seen.


Best Assistant Director

WINNER - The Lives of a Bengal Lancer – Clem Beauchamp and Paul Wing

David Copperfield – Joseph M. Newman

Les Misérables – Eric Stacey

A Midsummer Night's Dream – Sherry Shourds (write-in, not official nomination)


Great job to have such cohesion in Bengals.







bottom of page